April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Public Transport Simulator

by icedcola - Jam Entry

It was a rainy evening in mid-October. Dark as they come.
There was a broad across town, said she wanted to see me. Didn't know what about.
My Super Custom was in the shop getting the dents out of the Grill.

I'll have to take the bus.

My head was spinning from the night before. Show me the way (up, down, left, right or left stick) and help me on to the bus (space, gamepad-A).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

can't control this...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

The bus-hopping is an interesting idea, The movement speed is not motivating me to try to reach the girl though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30am

omg it moves so slow -- sorry i got no patience here -- nice effort

magnpeas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30am

Good concept but moves a little slow

May 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Kudos for this game actually feeling like I was taking the bus. Except for the part where the bus I was on drove off the road through a city block. For some reason I couldnt go down some streets. Had difficulty getting space to work when I was at a stop. Buses move too randomly. First bus stop in game, no buses go to. Interesting idea!

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:06am

Can't open .jar files

doos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:11am

I did do a bit of wandering, but I wasn't sure if the bus paths were random so it was a little lucky that I made it to the right hand side of the map. Would have been better if the routes were represented by numbers or colours. Also, reminded me a bit of this which might give you ideas!: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland_Yard_(board_game)

May 6, 2013 @ 5:10am

The game restarted every time I pressed a button on my controller? :/

mikeware says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:54pm

It's an interesting layout and idea, but I didn't see the game part of it. Is there an objective? It seemed like I should just walk and pick my path since the busses are so random.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]