April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Perfect Crime

by cmayhem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalistic take on committing the perfect crime. All you need to do is move the body to get off scot-free!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#24Humor3.87
#72Innovation3.90
#217Fun3.40
#274Mood3.23
#323Overall3.41
#336Graphics3.36
#407Audio2.96
#994Theme3.05

Comments

cmayhem says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Linux version is not tested, sorry!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Haha that was unexpected ! That was one gentle body ;P
Fun game! ^^

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Ooops, I made a bit of a mess.

Adbook says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

Very fun game ! :)

Also, FYI, the linux version does not work. It freezes on startup.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45am

This game is soooooooooo funny! So unexpected bloody surprise! I LOVE it!

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46am

Tested on Ubuntu 12.10 X86_64.
Works great!

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

Fun game! Great job!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Thanks for letting me know there is some problem with the Linux version, I'll try to fix it asap.

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

Played on Webplayer. I smirked.
I have a hard time figuring out how parts move - but it makes the game all the more fun.

Good job!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Fun Game! The mouse sensitivity was a little low for my tastes, but that's just my preference

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice work! I enjoyed the splatter! ^_^

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

QUILTY! Awesome idea, fun game! Would play more levels if there were any.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I love it, really funny ! and different :D

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

If every thing in that guy's house is covered in knifes I'm not surprised he died. :)

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Blood... it's everywhere!

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

This made me laugh :D Love how fragile and unwieldy the body is.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

lol! Hilarious and disgusting! I wish I knew what constituted hiding, since I ended up with a "Quilty" verdict. lol

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Oh der, now I get it. lol, the chalk outline thing was confusing for me, since it wasn't used in a way that corresponds to how it's used in real life. The chalk outlines are to indicate where the body was lying when found. Maybe if you had to stuff the body into a garbage can or trunk or vat of acid or something lol

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

YEAH not guilty ! ...well...the second time i played! First one was a total disaster ! Excellent game!

Beerman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

Hah! I pulled his head off and blood went everywhere!
Great fun, although it seemed to end at random even though the timer hadn't finished - is that meant to happen?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27am

I don't know if this is an intentional connection, but when QUILTY showed up at the end of my bloody catastrophe, I immediately thought of Peter Seller's Clare Quilty from the film Lolita, and the sight of a blood spattered room with a corpse and that thought were so great to have together. Thanks. Keeping the blood level minimal is a neat objective to pair with the theme too.

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31am

First try: Okay, that's kinda cool
Second try: BLOOD EVERYWHERE!

Made me laugh. Lovely graphics, sound works well with it. Would love more content with more 'dangerous' rooms.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

OOH I'm gonna need some paper towels to clean up that bloody mess... luckily I'm so QUILTY! THE QUICKER PICKER UPPER

This game is hilarious and well made. Great idea, great execution! GREAT GREAT GREAT

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Awesome and messy - i loved to play with your stick men :D

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

This is hilarious, "Verdict: Quilty" ending cracked me up!

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Oh my god! (That was so much fun. I had a whole class of teenage kids helping me.) The body must be a zombie. The have notoriously weak joints.

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:51am

The first time I pulled the body really quickly was quite surprising. :P Well done. :)

graytest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Great idea. The mouse sensitivity could have been better. Had to pull cursor off the screen to move the body at all. Kept ripping his head off because I got annoyed and pulled too hard.. :)

dray says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:04am

Yeah! i made it ! not guilty after 10 tries !

Jorjon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:48am

Nicely done! Maybe you should add more levels?

cmayhem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:34am

Thank you all for the comments! I'm working on turning this into a real game with options for mouse sensitivity. :)

tonic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:33am

Haha, what an idea. :) Came to try the game after somebody on Twitter mentioned that he got a "stair dismount feeling" from your game (I made stair dismount). The blood wounds get triggered perhaps a bit too easily. Nice work!

Jacic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:54pm

'Bloody' brilliant! ;) Very fragile body though. Still, fun!

Hayawi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:44pm

that was gruesomely awesome PAINT THOSE WALLS RED WITH BLOOD!

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice! After about five tries, I finally committed the Perfect Crime! Fun. Nicely done.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:35am

ok that was interesting -- nice effort!

kyyninen says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:35am

Gruesome murder is the best way to start a new rating day. Lovely!

ethankennerly says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:23am

Dragging the ragdoll thrilled me. If you continue to develop this, I kept tearing off the doll's arm and I don't see what I was doing wrong; it just happened each time.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:29am

What a bloody funny game! Ragdoll effect was really nice, but it was kind of easy to figure out how to complete this game.

The blood did surprise me, though. Might have helped if I knew which body part I was dragging.

And then John became a zombie.

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:15am

The fun begins when you realize that you should not drag body parts too strong...

moomoo112 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:20am

well, that was.. different, needs more levels, it's kinda fun

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:35am

Heheh, your game made my day. The idea is just amazing. It was hard but I managed to get not guilty!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

goerp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:20am

That was funny.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:41pm

AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME and completely impossible and bloody

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Linux version, all I get is a black screen.

Zccc says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Awesome :P I made the perfect crime!

Jeremias says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I hope your game isn't autobiographical :D
Should I be worried about having fun while playing football with a head?

kill0u says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:03am

Nice one! You'd make a terrible killer though :D

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:19am

omg, that was cool

wasn't expecting that he would explode when I first tried jaja xD

dem0 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I pulled his leg and his head blew off? :P That was pretty nice, managed to win. The gameplay was pretty lame but scenery and music was nice.

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:07pm

That moment when his head flew off XD
Very easy though, feels like their should be some more levels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]