April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mino-malism

by Shymoonesk - Jam Entry

The game is a 2D roguelike. You're a sorcerer in the Minotaur's Labyrinth. You must escape before the worms invade the Labyrinth, and then kill the Beast.

All the "win condition bugs" have been corrected, sorry but i didn't had the time before.
Good game !

The minimalism seems checked :
1 hero
1 attack
1 path
1 wall
1 boss
1 door
1 key.

Made in about 15 hours by your humble 15 years old's French servant, Simon Berna, for the Ludum Dare 26's Jam (with Game Maker : Studio).
I didn't had the time to polish all the aspects of the game (animations, sounds), but it works fine.

(the music is taken from this video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVTfszppJl8)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Humor(Jam)2.50
#364Audio(Jam)2.45
#449Fun(Jam)2.35
#492Mood(Jam)2.10
#496Theme(Jam)2.48
#518Graphics(Jam)2.13
#530Overall(Jam)2.25
#544Innovation(Jam)1.74
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

Carzy game! But i enjoyed it!

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

Yes, very crazy, thanks :)

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

that music, lol.

It crashed as soon as I got hit by an enemy. =/ Had fun though

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44am

I giggled at the soundtrack choice.
Also, It was kinda pretty bad having to start again because I was hit once, specially with that full bar of hp showing on top.

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

It's not normal, and I can't access to my computer right now :((((

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15pm

I just corrected the bug, please play it again :) !

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Sadly, but I got "Invalid or Deleted File." error on MediaFire :(

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Retry ! You download it during the correction :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

It is a little boring, but it works nonetheless and is quite impressive on 15 hours :D

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Rather strange, my window got bigger as I progressed, and I eventually got stuck. Hilarious song, though.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Very repetitive at the beginning. Also, I picked the key, and when I touched the door, it said that I need to find a key, showed the minotaur ring image, said that I need to find a key once more (I moved), and returned an error:

FATAL ERROR in action number 1 of Step EventAtk_H for object Joueur:
Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.invicible(100013, 0)
at gml_Object_Joueur_Collision_16 (line -1) - <unknown source line>

But I think it's intentional, right?

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Moving around felt difficult, I kept getting stuck on ledges and invisible things. Also, a bit confused what was going on in the boss part.

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Wasn't very entertaining. Controls were pretty annoying too. Two stars for effort?

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

You weren't suppose to move during the animation of the ring ^^
Guys, sorry for all the bugs, but didn't had the time to correct all the bugs, i'm not allowed to correct those, the jam is finished. I made an exception for the first bug because it was an uploading problem :)

@Entity2D. It's normal, for the progression : the hero is seeing more and more of the labyrinth. But you can press F11 to switch to fullscreen if you want.

@TheAwesomeProgrammer. Thanks, basically the people doesn't know what hard it is to create a working game in only 15 hours.

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Invalid URL :(

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Ifpetrino, I finally delete the bugs, after a bit of reflexion. Retry if you want :)

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Link does not work:
Invalid or Deleted File.

The key you provided for file download was invalid. This is usually caused because the file is no longer stored on MediaFire. This occurs when the file is removed by the originating user or MediaFire.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Unfortunately pressing W caused errors to happen in the game. I also have some doubts about some of the stuff here being original. Also had some weird glitches with worms and spazzing out. Good first attempt, but very rough around the edges.

Shymoonesk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:30am

The Minotaur ring draw is on this site : http://www.furnation.com/krolain/minotaur/minotaur.htm
The others draws are mine, and the song is a popular Youtube video.

ZYXer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I get an error message when if i press "W" right after pressing "D".
But I already can't get the song out of my head. :D

May 5, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Sadly I can't play it because it seems to be no Win32-version. :(

Spiridios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:19am

Unplayably broken - W to move north just keeps throwing an error.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]