April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grid Blaster

by Alucard Jay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fast paced arcade shooter. The objective : Stay on the Grid and Survive.

A minimalistic approach for the objective as well as the design and layout.

* The score is determined by the number of UFOs destroyed MINUS the number of bullets you fire. SO if you fire lots, expect a low score (minimal bullets = better score)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#243Innovation3.53
#295Fun3.28
#479Overall3.24
#519Humor2.26
#548Mood2.89
#653Audio2.53
#751Graphics2.77
#1063Theme2.95

Comments

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

It took a while to load, but the game is very interesting. It's a bit easy to die, though, right after respawning, as you respawn next to the hole in the grid.

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

nice simple shooter game.

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

At first I was wondering why the controls weren't so responsive, then I was like "ahhhhhh!"

Nice idea with the movement, and the fact that destroyed enemies affect where you can move!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

This is nice, and the concept of having parts of the grid destroyable is really a great idea. I can imagine this game would translate perfectly into a lo-res pixel shooter.

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Nice shooter. I love the background sound. Extremely atmospheric.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Really nice game, enjoyed it. Some stuff I haven't seen before in a video game. Really good job!

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The grid mechanic is not something I've seen before, and I like it!

Bluebutton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Took forever to load, but great idea and well implemented. This could easily be a fully fledged title.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice arena shooter with that hole-twist-thing.
Would be nice if you happened to animate the grid lines.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I really like this!

Tougher than I thought it would be and not for the reasons I thought it would be. I thought as the game progressed, more and more of the grid would be destroyed, making it harder and harder to stay on the grid - kinda like playing a game of Snake.

Instead, it was usually the enemy bullets that killed me. I just felt like I didn't have enough time or vision ahead of me to really react to the bullets effectively.

Honestly, I think it would have been more interesting if the grid holes were the most important/difficult obstacle rather than the bullets. Bullets have been done in a million games, but the grid holes thing is unique.

Great game overall though!

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really liked the grid mechanic and the holes that are blown out by killing the bad guys.
It'd be cool to see if you develop this further outside the competition - as it's a very unique game. A persistant hud/score would be cool - I only saw my score after I'd died. Some finesse like subtle camera movement and some minimal low-poly explosions for the ships would be cool to see also. :)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33am

I really liked how the grid "fixed" itself - brilliant feature!

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice game. Actually felt rather fun to play. The sort of thing I'd like to see worked on with more time than LD allows - it may turn into something more broadly appealing. 1up potato is a nice touch. :)

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

That was a fun game. :)

omaha says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Wonderful shooter. Nice and difficult. Requires you to focus on two goals at once. Really enjoyed this.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

I really like the grid movement. It feels so smooth.

I also really like those big chunky potatoes.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

Loved the potato! I couldn't seem to acquire score points though? Dunno, but other than that everything about this game I absolutely love. The grid-based movement is probably one of the coolest decompositions I've seen so far. Love it!

Alucard J says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26am

Thank you everyone for your great feedback. This is my first LD (or any game-jam). THe suggestions have really been great. I shall lower the enemy bullet fire rate and increase the grid damage after each wave.

Regarding the score, it is based on minimalism, for each bullet you fire the score is reduced by 2 =]

thenmal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

Ahhh the potato it lied to me.

basspenguin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really cool effect when the holes fill in.

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19am

Wow, excellent job. Destructible Regenerating grid was very nice. It is very challenging as it is.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21am

I like that the playfield changes as the game progresses. Makes it harder as you play more. My first playthru was horrible, but once i figured out the idea, I enjoyed it. Nice job!

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

The grid damage mechanic is awesome - can't say I've seen that before. Sort of makes it like a cross between a dual stick shooter ala Robotron and an inverse Solar Fox. It was fun, but I'd like to see the number of enemies ramp up a bit faster. Sound design was good, but I don't think the explosion particle effect fitted the visual style of the rest of the game. Worth expanding on this game for a post-compo version to milk that grid damage mechanic.

foxor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:46am

I loved playing it, but it could use some music!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:29am

A few good ideas for sure, and I quite liked the atmosphere. I thought it would have been a good idea to keep it 2D, but that might just be my personal preference.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:34am

Good Tron variation ^^ I like the hole in the grid after an explosion. Good job :)

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:34am

The grid damage mechanic is really pretty clever, wish it would be a tad faster.

Hegemege says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:03am

Very solid game in overall, felt retro and addicting. Good job on polishing, didn't see any bugs and liked the way the grid healed itself :P

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:10am

Great concept, I love that enemies destroyed the grid and it slowly restored! Graphics were a bit plain and it felt unfair that enemies knew where I was but I didn't know where they were. I think this serves as a great foundation for a slightly bigger game.

Sestren says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:23am

Score seems buggy at times, but the game was pretty fun to play. I liked how the grid rebuilt itself over time.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:42am

What a simple but addictive game. Making the ship constantly move really makes it fun and challenging!

NuSan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:52am

Cool game, pretty hard, i have even manage to make a double K.O. Keep the good work.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:55am

Very cool idea, I enjoyed it :)

May 6, 2013 @ 5:58am

Solid shooter! Love the re-growing grid.

TehSkull says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Very, VERY fun. Need to show the score and wave number more often. Throw some spacey music, and you've got a great game. Up it to Kongregate, when you do.

evilseanbot says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:51am

I like the central idea a lot! I agree that it would be better if the holes in the grid were a bigger challenge than the enemies.

I think it would've been good if the waves were announced more clearly, to increase the sense of accomplishment.

I felt like there was a pretty big difficulty increase in Wave 3. It went from feeling overly easy for a long time to killing me 4 times in a short span. Could probably use some tightening up there.

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Absolutely loved the grid control scheme and how the grid affects the gameplay a lot.

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:53am

cool concept. really liked having to think about more than just firing like crazy. nice work.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

great idea -- love the effect of the grid rebuilding itself -- extra weapons and powerup would be nice -- great job

May 20, 2013 @ 4:33pm

My highest score was 86.
It took a long time to load, I imagine because of the super long ambient sound loop in the game.
I really like the grid idea, and how destroying the enemies made a hole in the grid. A lot of potential there!
I feel that the game would be a lot stronger if the entire grid would fit on the screen at once. Most of the time I died because I didn't have enough time to react once I saw an enemy.
Really cool entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]