April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ZOMBLES!

by NaoisTheGuardian - Jam Entry

This game Is about surviving waves of Zombies that come every night. W, A, S, D to move, click to attack or use item, right click to change weapons. The Shop is only open once every 5 Days. You can there buy ammo for your crossbow and health packs. You must be resourceful with the "minimal"(wink-wink nudge-nudge) Supplies you have. The Muscly zombies are stronger, and the zombies with top hats and monocles are Really dangerous. Survive as long as you can and post how many days in the comments. Unfortunately I was unable to implement a few features...
Thanks: Okrininja, for doing some great textures for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#453Graphics(Jam)2.50
#471Mood(Jam)2.27
#514Theme(Jam)2.37
#516Innovation(Jam)2.00
#523Fun(Jam)2.05
#540Overall(Jam)2.20
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I'm on Windows 8 with 32 bit Java 7 and the game exits when I click start.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Sorry, it should be fixed now.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24am

Not sure if it's finished, I can't see any zombies, bolts, weapon swings.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:34am

I was unable to polish it completely, but there are zombies, you dont start with any ammo(couldnt add any counters), but you can buy it in the store. Weapons dont have any display, except for a red line showing trajectory. Its my first ludum dare entry, not to mention my first real game(as in all of my other games were text-based).
You have to wait for night for zombies.

Topaz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:20am

Pretty nice, keep up the good work and with some practice you'll get better. Hope to see another game in the future.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:49am

Thanks!

ecool377 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice game, great potential.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:45am

Nice game, well done :D

May 6, 2013 @ 11:09am

Thanks guys.

goerp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:56pm

You had me at the 'wink wink nudge nudge'!

But there was a bit too much time before the zombies came. And after dying the game didn't end.

Good for a first try. Next time add some self made screams and try some own made textures.

May 10, 2013 @ 6:55am

Thanks for the feedback. I should have made a death menu, but pressing escape and going to the main menu should work okay.

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:55am

well done, but kinda boring.

May 14, 2013 @ 9:56am

lol, I agree!

zanzindorf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:46pm

I get what you were going for with the scene getting darker at night, but it makes it really hard to see (it may be my monitor.) I think you could get the same effect by shifting the color pallet from reds to blues, or you could start the player off with a lantern. Nice entry! Thanks for sharing!

May 18, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Thx for playing!

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice! The night comes very slowly... and wow that is a LOAD of gravestones.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]