April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time to Think

by MrWhoof - Jam Entry

Time to Think is a first person experiential game, without hud, gui, menus, time, or defined goals and meant as an allegory to depression. Lost but moving forward.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Graphics(Jam)3.82
#196Mood(Jam)3.18
#206Audio(Jam)3.10
#240Overall(Jam)3.23
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#340Humor(Jam)1.88
#381Theme(Jam)2.95
#394Innovation(Jam)2.56
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40am

Looks interesting, but can't get it to play on Linux. Chromium here, no Unity3d plugin available, but no prompt for it, either.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

Epic will defiantly give a nice rating when it time.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21am

Solid game so far!

I like the contrast between the first room and the white rooms afterwards. Music fits nicely as well.

Level-Design could use a bit of work though, the player-speed is motion-sickness-high, and the jumps very difficult.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33am

Worked well on linux! Thanks for the export!

I think I played through all the levels though, and it wouldn't advance me to the next level.

Very nice game though!

ENP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57am

Great submission keep up the great work!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Very Nice, must have taken a chunk load of time...

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Sweet game! Movement is a tad strange though :/

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

The movement speed and jumps make the game overly difficult, also luck the cursor in first person games.
I would have played more bur couldn't pass the jumps is third room after ten tries.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Wow! I can't make it in 48 hours. Great, great job!!!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58am

The movement is kinda crappy, but I really liked the style! Great mood!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I love the aesthetics, but please, please lower the player's speed and lock the mouse.

MrWhoof says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Apologies for the mouse, I thought it was fixed when I pushed the build but apparently I made it worse. I'll update it before the Jam is over.

@texel you have to mark the main game file as executable. If you are on Ubuntu, right click, Properties > Permissions > Allow executing file as executable. Should be similar on other distros.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Good stuff!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Great game! The controls feel a little too slippery. It also doesn't seem very minimalist. But it is a good game.

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I really like this. I just wish I could be better at it! I love the mood, and the music at the beginning REALLY sets it. It's titled "... demo" does that mean that LD inspired a full game? I'd love to see where this goes if it does!

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I love this kind of 'experimental game'. I couldn't reach the end of the game but I liked the parts I played ^^

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Nice mood and feel, it is a little hard indeed,

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Nice game, but couldn't figure out what to do in the red "crystal" room. I really like the lighting.

GustavGMD says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Quite interesting game. I admit it got my curiosity. But the controls of the character are somewhat unrealistic... maybe because they are at a very accelerated pace?

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Hey where is the cake? haha good stuff. I like it! very polished!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:38am

Beat the entire thing, really tested my patience. :P

You clearly made it challenging but IMO did not evoke the feeling of depression, rather the feeling of frustration. I think your design choices were mostly deliberate but I'd said it's not my cup of tea.

(Did you beat this game yourself? If so how long did it take?)

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:14am

So great! I love it and it has a rich environment!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:08am

The jumps are tricky and I unfortunately got stuck at the place shown on the main screenshot (red). Wish I could go further but maybe too hard for me :)
(What about a walkthrough?).
Otherwise, very good music (too bad it stops!), interesting design as well.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nice atmosphere - the illumination and background music do their job. As the others stated: The moving needs some fine-tuning and the cursor distracts a bit.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:16pm

At first I thought: "This is fun! Nice graphics, great mood". Then I though: "Controls are slpippy, and the game lacks feedback. The mouse is too (?) sensitive, at least make me able to adjust it". Then I thought: "What am I talking about? This is really fun! Just make a tutorial/training just to let the player get used to the game, and you`ll be okay".

messiano says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Controls are a bit strange, but nice game and music!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Walking around the room with furniture interested me. If you continue to develop this, the room with a platform and a pit was where I lost hope of progressing.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice interpretation... but for me the platform first person is pretty too hard.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]