April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sleepwalker LD

by Yarek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sleepwalker LD is a challenging one-button platformer game made in flash.

The only action that you are allowed to do is jumping pressing "space" or "Up" and if you are next to a wall you can climb too!

So the point here is that you can't prevent the sleepwalker from moving instead you need to use your skill to jump or climb whenever it's necessary.

Play if you dare ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Humor3.00
#351Fun3.21
#446Theme3.64
#498Mood2.96
#509Overall3.21
#521Graphics3.07
#790Innovation2.82
#839Audio2.21
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27am

It's not easy!! :)

Good work!

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Wow this is hard, and strangely addictive. well done!

Yarek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Thanks for your feedback :)

I decided to go for a game like old games where graphics were minimal and the gameplay options too but what made that kind of games so fun was that they were really easy to play but really really hard to master and this is what I've tried to achieve here.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Cool! I like it. Sometimes the spikes are hard too see though.

quill18 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Excellent execution of both the theme and the genre. Great stuff.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Good game! I like it)

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Can't get past "You haven't seen this yet" though it was an interesting concept :)

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Smart level design and funny level quotes!

Yarek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43am

Thanks for your feedback and support I really appreciate your comments :)

Docteur says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I like it! Smart level design.

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:40am

Neat concept. I like the minimalism. It's also creepy. Well done

geckojsc says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Those cheesy flash gradients ;)

Really though, nice work, the narration was cool and it all fit the theme well. Only problem was I felt the controls weren't quite responsive enough. I could spam the space bar and still not jump or climb in time, which was quite frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]