April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

City Walk

by MaxSzlagor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walk around the city and enjoy the sights and sounds. I was inspired by the walks I take around my local city, and I used photo and audio reference for the visuals and audio in the game.

Should run in any capable HTML 5 browser. Sounds are important - if you don't hear them, please try another browser (tested all but Safari).

First jam. Used Constructor 2 and decided to stick to the theme and also excluded cube/circle/retro graphics/auto-gen sounds (All those things are awesome, but I wanted to do something different). Also wanted to avoid using jumping and shooting mechanics. Hope everyone enjoys their time in the city!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#168Audio3.38
#420Mood3.07
#571Theme3.52
#714Humor2.00
#851Innovation2.74
#957Graphics2.53
#1085Overall2.64
#1295Fun1.82

Comments

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

Interesting graphics, but it could use some action or more surprises, as well as background music. Also, there's a funny bug to make the character walk backwards!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Very original, and the city feels quite "alive". Though it could benefit from some more varied interactions.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

The style is interesting. I think some more variation in your available activities would have been good, or more action happening in the background - for example, seeing character dialog or similar as you moved through the city.

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

Great use of sound, I like walking around my city as well. This game captures that nicely.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

Creates a good feel of the city.Could do some more work but I'd say it's pretty solid.

basspenguin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Great vibe!

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

Nice work, very good ambience.

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

Nice feel, delivers on promise of title. Pro-tip: Initiate moonwalk mode by tapping the opposite direction key while walking.

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

Thanks for playing! I'll look into the moonwalking. It's a little too bad since I am using the default Constructor 2 platform controls.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

Cute, but I wouldn't call it a game.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49am

Well if you hold right and tap left you end up walking backwards, which I thought was pretty funny. Extra point for Humor!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

Was a cool concept, however it needed more gameplay :D

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

Really enjoyed this one. Personally I thought the audio was great without music, and was what made the game so effective. The parallax background added a lot, too. My only suggestion would be to have more positional sounds (e.g. passers-by) and positional sources for sounds like the crow calling. Great job, though!

Zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

love it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

I enjoyed the mood that the game creates; it would be interesting to see a version that was expanded so that you can explore the city more and perhaps try to accomplish some goal. There seems to be a bug where the game freezes if I switch to another tab and then switch back; perhaps that is due to the game engine.

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Interesting idea, I like it but I did kind of want to do interact with stuff. :)

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I really enjoyed this. A very clever, unique, original experience.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Didn't really feel much like a "game". I just kept walking in the hope that I could do something, or something would happen.

Nice graphics though and I like the ambient sounds.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great use of sound! I would love to see this expanded.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Lol!! Quite nice! Loved the ending, LOLed for real! Sound effects are cool. Definitely is a minimalist game :P. Could have added more stuff and a goal, but then it would not have been as minimalist, so... Cheers!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

It's a semi-interesting concept that actually got me thinking on how to make a certain kind of game, but of course, with just walking and not much more it is a limited experience. And moon-walking at the beginning is fun. XD;

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:11pm

i liked the people moving in the windows, it gave the game a living touch.
The main background sound scape stoped kind of abrupt...

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Really like the parallax style. A style worth exploring.

shard123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Simple but fun to explore! I loved the sounds.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

I love the experience. Congrats and thanks. So, please play and rate my game, When you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Sorry. o/

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15am

Not a game, more of an experience. Hard to rate anything with it.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

Thank you to everyone that played the game. Please consider rating it if you haven't (in whatever categories you feel are appropriate). For those of you that wanted more interactions, what specifically would you like to see? I have a lot of ideas for expanding the experience, but I'm curious what your thoughts are.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:10am

Interesting idea.
Some games like "Every day the same dream". "Gray", are not powerful at the gameplay, but the things they want to express are quite interesting.

Good job!:D

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:12pm

At first I thought "That does not sound to be fun to play, lets try it"
I just knew exploration games like Proteus and Antichamber and believed that only 3D exploration are realistic enough and games can be fun.
When i came to the traffic light I was really impressed and enjoyed the whole (too short! :p) walk. Awesome :) -> Top rating.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:40am

Relaxing... playing all these intense action games then go for a walk. Soundscape and mood most excellent. Good job!

voidstar69 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Interesting idea. I played this in Safari, on an iPad. The sound effects worked the first time, but on subsequent playthroughs there was no sound, even after closing and reopening the browser.
An interesting experience, although the very limited control and lack of interaction make it seem un-game-like, more an experience. Thanks for making this.

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Hi, I wanted to play this and it seems other people have, but after clicking to start, the arrow keys and WASD do nothing. I've tried this in Firefox, Opera, Chrome and in desperation, IE10. Has something changed, why is it broken?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]