April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sense Certainty

by Behemoth - Jam Entry

It is a file.

You can click it.

It will do something.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#261Humor(Jam)2.18
#274Theme(Jam)3.24
#423Mood(Jam)2.45
#462Innovation(Jam)2.30
#534Overall(Jam)2.22
#544Fun(Jam)1.84
#549Graphics(Jam)1.76

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

No I'm not.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

It seems interesting, but I don't really get it. :\

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Unusual, I must say. Got my first laughter when I accidentally "devoured the thing". I still have no idea what it was, but now it's in my stomach. :D

If there's something worth improving, it's the controls. The movement buttons could be in a grid or something, so it would be easier to sense the directions.

Alic Szecsei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

There's a bug I got where "bad expression: unterminated string literal" appears on the sidebar. Beyond that, it's an interesting concept, and fits the theme pretty well.

Behemoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

@Alic Szecsei: Whoops, forgot a quotation mark. Should be fixed now.

Thanks!

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Feels like the game's just wasting the player's time. I know it's minimal, but some sense of purpose would be nice.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Clever. I liked how many things you could do to the thing. But then I wasn't sure what to do.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

Good looking and funny, I'd probably take it out to dinner. But it'd tell stories that were a little long and directionless. I love the genre and it's a nice execution but some walls enclosing the play area would have been good.

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Interesting. I completed it. Took me a few tries of making different choices. Thanks for sharing!

sharbelfs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:01am

Many options and no one actually do something.

hirsch says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Pretty minimalistic, but it gets confusing ;)

mcc says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:45am

It was interesting! I admired the commitment to the bit and I was pleasantly surprised there was more going on here than I thought at first. The one problem I did have was that it felt like it fell prey to what a lot of Twine games do, to wit, you are given no way to "advance" gameplay except "click every single button available to you". This wound up even more frustrating than normal in this case because so many of the plethora of options to try were "fatal" and started you over at the beginning. Still, I enjoyed my couple of short playthroughs after which I decided qlvat jnf rabhtu pybfher sbe zr.

Behemoth says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:53am

I was kinda going for there being too many options for simple trial and error, to get you to really look at the one clue and try and solve it. I maybe should have made the clue easier to get to, in retrospect.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]