April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ablaze

by ignifluous - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ablaze

- Dedicated to "(J & V) + 1" -

Written by @ignifluous, for Ludum Dare 26 - "Minimalism"

"For what are we but star-stuff,
trying to find the circumstances
of our birth? We were forged in
the hearts of dying stars ...
and to the stars
ablaze
we return."

INSTRUCTIONS:
Travel as far as you can towards the stars!
- Don't worry about remembering the controls - they're all marked on the control panel.
- Use WASD to keep the navigation display centered. Steer towards the indicator.
- Use 'F' to raise the shields when the ALERT light warns of incoming asteroids
- Watch the control panel to see the power level of different components.
- Watch the rocket to see how damaged the components are. Generally darker is worse - but most components match colours with the control panel when fully repaired.
- CTGBYHUJM repair the respective components
*** Repairs are the key to a long flight! ***
- 'P' pauses.
- Consider the Passenger.

Web version works great ... but if you find you get a low framerate, try downloading the version for your operating system of choice.

Inspired by:
Carl Sagan (the "star-stuff" quote)
Space Team (the iOS game)
Owl City ("Alligator Skies")

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#496Humor2.31
#515Innovation3.17
#758Mood2.68
#865Graphics2.64
#1088Audio1.13
#1146Overall2.54
#1277Fun1.92
#1282Theme2.46

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

I have returned to the stars, ablaze.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17am

Interesting idea

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Funny how much difference that comma makes ...

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

I really liked the fire effect.

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Cool passenger dialogue, I too have returned to stars, ablaze :p

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Plot twist: there was no passenger, it was you all along!

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

nice game :)
the passenger is really nice,... or is that really ME?!?!

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

just press D and win ...... the visual and background is good but i dont want to try again

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Funny game! I love it :)

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Great move with the passanger. I didn't however really get into it. Need some kind of urgency to get involved with it. Now it just felt like button mashing until you crashed. Maybe some feedback from the crew telling you whats need to be done? It would make a contrast to the passenger atleast.

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Thanks Brassawiking ... that would certainly help with the complexity. I'll add it to my list of features for v2 :-)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Pretty interesting concept for sure. :D

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Awesome fire effects but there are some bugs with the fire after no more fire is being made.

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I do not want to be one of my travelers. x)

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

That's interesting game. It really reminds me of some early puristic space sims. Good base for some space trading game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

Felt like a single player version of "Spaceteam." I didn't really understand a ton of what I was doing, but it was fun to try to fly a spaceship.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48am

Really nice, didn't get to have a proper go since I'm too tired for simulator-like games, I really enjoyed it good work!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

I like the idea of heat control and I love space travelling, try to minimalice more the controls and add some fx and sounds and you will have a shocking experience :)

please try my game in windows ,thanks

cadin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:35am

I couldn't really figure out what I was supposed to be doing. I think if I'm supposed to be focusing on the Navigation thing, maybe it should be bigger.
I really like the fire animation though.

May 20, 2013 @ 1:44am

It was interesting, though kind of confusing.

JonRB says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:01am

For some reason this reminds me of a nuclear reactor simulator I played/used once.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]