April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from the Tower

by Luxorix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You need to escape from the tower.

P.S. This is my first Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#261Fun3.33
#311Graphics3.40
#316Overall3.42
#651Mood2.78
#801Humor1.91
#937Innovation2.60
#1008Audio1.72
#1105Theme2.88

Comments

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00am

Looks pretty good. The controls take a while to get used to, but I give it an A+. Check out my game too.

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

I thought this was really good, especially for your first Ludum Dare, One thing I noticed was it was possible to get stuck on levels and have to restart, I think it would of felt nicer, if you'd have made it like a Zelda game,where by nothing you can do will get you completely stuck. But you didn't have much time to design levels and think it all out like that XD. Very nice job man, welcome to Ludum Dare

zapaman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

Congrats on your first Ludumdare!

Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Thank you all!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

Got a Chip's Challenge feel from this game. So many memories :D Nice work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

Looks really clean! Like it!

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

I liked it. I wanted to say that I found it weird that you automatically opened doors next to you thus possibly wasting keys, but I find that it actually makes the game more fun and challenging.

The graphics fit together really nicely and there's quite a bit of content.

I found that in level 4, it's impossible to get all the coins (please do correct me if I'm wrong).

Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

Possible =) Thanks for the tip!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Loved the puzzle aspect of having the doors open automatically, and it was used cleverly in the level design. Particularly in levels 4 & 5, you really had to plan your route to open all the doors - I actually went back and did them again just to get all the coins. Great stuff :)

Luxorix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

@Andrei Barsan : Possible to collect all the coins on level 4. Thanks!
@rogueNoodle : Thanks!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice game! I really enjoyed it ;)

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13am

Very nice. I at first the automatically opening doors thing was annoying, but it made the levels more of a puzzle as the order of the key collection actually mattered. The levels were quite well designed. Getting all the green things in level 4 was a challenge, but I eventually realised how to do it.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

That was great!
I like this style of game and you made a fantastic example of it.
The doors opening as you walk by is a cool and unique element.

I really think you could finish this up and make some money from it.

S0larCode says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:38am

Nice, takes some strategy to find your path the right way.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42am

Pretty graphics and good gameplay! I wish that the doors would only open if you pressed in their direction with a key, but that would mean redesigning the levels where you're not supposed to pass by certain ones. Great first LD entry, hope to see more from you! :)

Luxorix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:01am

Thank you all! Your feedback for me as a small victory.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:53am

Very good level design !

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:54am

wow that was really good

euske says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Excellent level design. Diamonds were so tempting...

TaleLore says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:21am

Pretty good game. The graphics were nice.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:58am

Not bad, man!
Beat all 5 levels and waiting more =)
Also you need sound and music.

mrx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very fun game.

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:35am

This reminded me of the old-school DOS games I grew up with. Really nice work, I'd look forward to having more levels to play.

Jesse111 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:36am

Very nice! I really like the "chips challenge"-like genre.
Our hero seems to have a "tripping and falling into doors with key in hand" problem! Adds a neat dynamic to picking your route around the room.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]