April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lemmings 3d: Yellow Edition

by chobrah - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys, my entry is a lemmings-like escort game in a first-person environment. Get all the lemmings to the yellow room to beat the level. (For a greater challenge, try and get the lemmings to eat all of the cookies!) Currently 3 levels, that's probably all I'll get around to, so tired..

For the web-version, click once in the applet to grab the mouse. Press escape to give the mouse back to your browser.

How to Play:
Lemmings are not ambi-turners.. they only turn LEFT! Guide them to the yellow room with carefully placed cubes.
Hold down shift or right mouse button to speed up the simulation.

Tools used:
Unity
Gimp
Audacity
SFXR
Visual Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Humor3.48
#224Fun3.39
#323Overall3.41
#405Innovation3.31
#443Audio2.88
#743Mood2.70
#751Graphics2.77
#1006Theme3.04
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

amazon says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Very nice idea, but I expected to be a lemming :<

Mega1mpact says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Great game!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

Everyone knows Lemmings like RED. Other than that ovious oversght, great game!

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

good idea, requires patience to precisely place the block for lemming to iterate its turning direction..
Somehow couldn't solve 1st puzzle :/

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48am

Very good. Nice use of humor.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

I like yellow!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

Cool game, sound effects are pretty funny. Might be a good idea to say somewhere that shift will speed everything up, because otherwise (like acronaut said) it can be annoying waiting for all the lemmings to come around.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Was expecting an actual lemming though. Font was silly. The voice is funny.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Damn that was hard.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Nice game.

I think it would have helped if there was a chess-like pattern on the ground to better see the way the lemmings go.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42am

Well done :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Interesting concept, it would be much better if there was a grid on the floor.

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Great work on the puzzle design! I liked how you put the cookies as an optional extra challenge :)

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Very funny and challengine lemmings-like

chobrah says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46am

Many thanks for all the nice comments guys.

I actually had a checkers pattern to help place the boxes in an earlier version but it no longer looked minimal. Probably should have tweaked it instead of scrapping it.

mtthwcmpbll says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Funny, and quite clever.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Zoolander hoy! This is great fun... played for ages. Always nice to build in-world

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:02am

oie like yellooow

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]