April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keyboard

by McDonaldsWizard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keyboard Game was made with Flash, sfxr, cgMusic FlashDevelop and GitHub.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#459Audio2.86
#611Theme3.48
#612Humor2.16
#638Graphics2.93
#824Mood2.61
#855Innovation2.73
#861Fun2.66
#914Overall2.83
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55am

Keyboard is just that, you press buttons on the keyboard when the highlights line up with the keys. I've keep away from external themes and metaphors, in keeping with the minimalism concept. There's a bit of truth to materials to boot; Keyboard, a game about using the keyboard.

Keyboard gets harder the longer you play. It starts off only using the WASD keys, which most of you should be familiar with. Look, they're right on your keyboard. As you get more experienced typing, er playing Keyboard, you will need to learn and use more keys. If you press the wrong keys or miss a key you were supposed to hit too many times, the game will end.

Levels are designed as a series of key sequences. Sequences are ranked by difficulty and are chosen semi-randomly based on the current difficulty.

You get fun explosions when you press the buttons at the right time. Get a long streak to see it get crazy!

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Nice music track, the colorful explosions throws me off when the key sequences are getting faster..
(though it would have been nice to see 'life-meter' or limited lives/mistakes threshold)

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

I really enjoyed the music and the ramp up of difficulty.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

pretty cool! Kinda fun to other typing games :)

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

It's like Guitar Hero on a keyboard! Not my cup of tea, but well done.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

I like it, very tough.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

Strangely compelling. Nice music too.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

Is it supposed to go game over when I hit the correct key? Would make a great typing tutor, because the focus is on the keyboard.

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

Haha, nice! Pressing the keys too soon seems to be NOT OKAY but I had lots of fun. Liked the health feedback

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

I... really suck at typing (it's that damn y key). Very innovative!
Also, I felt like the music was making fun of me.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

Guitar hero for the keyboard.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Liked the game, didn't like the music (sorry). It seemed to be burning into my brain! For extra fun, the player can use the 'home keys' to make it into a typing tutor.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]