Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Anti-Tac-Tic - Super Hamster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare. It is a basically the opposite of Tic-Tac-Toe. Both players have a circle chip and you do not want to get a certain number in a row. If the game is a board with 3 by 3 tiles, then you do not want to get 3 in a row. If it is 4 by 4, you do not want to get 4 in a row. And finally, if it is 5 by 5, you do not want get 5 in a row. You can play against the computer or you can play against a friend. Hit escape if you want to switch game mode. Have fun!

To download it, go to the link, then click file, and then click download.

Also, I think I might make this game an app for android. Is that a good idea? Should I make it cost $1 or free with ads? You tell me.

View Super Hamster's journal. | View all entries by Super Hamster

Ratings

Coolness96%
#559Theme3.53
#560Innovation3.12
#769Fun2.75
#936Humor1.71
#954Overall2.79
#1057Audio1.42
#1206Mood1.97
#1287Graphics1.91

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

Also, I would like to make this game in browser and set up because that is pretty much how it is right now anyways and I rather not have people be confused so if you could tell me how or give me a link with it done, that would be great.

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

I suggest using Dropbox ( http://dropbox.com ). Place the jar and the HTML file in your Public folder, click on the HTML file and select Copy Public Link, and distribute that. Just to make sure that'd work, I uploaded it here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5227720/Anti-Tac-Tic.html
Feel free to use that as your link if you don't want to bother with dropbox, it shouldn't go anywhere.

I really like the game design! I've often wondered to myself, how do you fix tic-tac-toe? I'm not sure this is necessarily fixed (I think the player who goes first always wins, in optimal gameplay) but it's definitely better. Unfortunately, the AI is really easy to beat, but that's a problem that more time would solve I suspect.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

Thanks so much thristhart, oh and by the way, I need to play your game! :D

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

This is a neat idea. It is, in fact, more interesting than tic-tac-toe (at least when you go above 3X3). I might use it as a paper game at some point.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Simple game, but pretty interesting concept.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

The basic idea is there and it's pretty fun, I enjoyed it but it could use some sound and polishing to make it a bit harder. Really great though!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

This is a pretty interesting variation of tic-tac-toe. It has the same kind of simplicity as the normal game, so it was neat figuring out the winning strategy all over again. The AI doesn't quite seem to have it down, which makes it harder to analyze but is probably a good thing, because it looks pretty easy to force a win.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I liked it. Good use of theme.

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

cool concept. Fits the theme really well. We had a lot of fun playing hotseat!

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:38am

Ha, I love it! 3x3 seems pretty pointless to me, but the 5x5 is pretty fun, and nice job with the AI :)

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39am

Hmmm...definitely is harder than normal tic tac toe. Don't know whether there is a "perfect game"

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

clever game idea

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice game! I like the concept :)

Doublecaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:21pm

It was fun variation of Tic tac toe. One I got a hang on it the AI was easy to defeat.
For my game. What version of java you have? I think you need atleast Java 7 to play my game.

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Great concept and great AI!

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Nice little game, fun and very simple but unique twist on the game. Great AI and game logic

Alexander says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:05am

This is a cool concept, I dig! I wish there was a soundtrack though, either something silly or something really intense.

GameNacho says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:06am

What a fun little game, definitely unique!

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:50pm

This is a lot more fun than the original, haha. Great job, especially for your first dare! (:

delfino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

A fellow tic-tac-toe variant maker! Good idea and well executed

aneeslol says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:20am

Very neat idea!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Good idea. Congratz!

graytest says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:44am

This is a very fun game. Some nice music/sounds would have been nice.

anjack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Cool take on an old classic! The AI seemed pretty competent, good job!

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:45am

That was really interesting to play, really nice reversal of tic tac toe or naught's and crosses. Had a lot of fun, was surprised how much fun I had actually. Really nice job.

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:44am

surprisingly difficult, nice concept

f7f5 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:56pm

unfortunately, it will not run on my machine (Linux with Fedora 16, Java 6)

f7f5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I tried the Web and Download versions on FF and Chrome. It says "applet started" but all I get is a grey box...

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:02am

Great in concept, but poor in practice. Has the same problems as Tic-Tac-Toe. Definitely have great respect for trying a new idea, however.

Spiridios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Nice variation on a simple game!

dalbinblue says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:05am

It's a cool idea. The AI was a bit too easy though, as I was able to defeat the enemy every time by looking ahead only a turn or two.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]