April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Square Circle Triangle

by my.digital.decay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my (unfinished) entry to Ludum Dare 26.

Note: This is not actually a game. Any feedback is welcome though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#937Theme3.12
#1014Innovation2.44
#1017Graphics2.42
#1236Coolness49%
#1249Mood1.63
#1342Fun1.32
#1346Overall1.65

Comments

frr171 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25am

If not a game, its an interesting idea nonetheless. This is pretty cool because I hadn't heard of Moai before - after checking it out, it looks pretty amazing! I definitely want to use it for a future project.

Also, I was able to get a Windows version working: http://db.tt/J4G8fh6E

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

This looks like it has some great potential to explore shape morphing as a mechanic, but unless I'm missing something, all there is is a single environment with a morphing shape and an invisible platform from which your avatar can tumble endlessly.

daniel2357 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:42am

Don't have OS/X

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:38am

No Mac. I can't play this game.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:52am

Looks cool even without an objective. Does anyone know what that font is at the start? Also the shape morphing is very well done.

May 4, 2013 @ 2:11am

@SneakySalmon The font is from here: http://www.04.jp.org/ . Specifically it is the font 04B-03B. Some really good bitmap fonts here.

matter123 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:17am

funr but not really game really minimal though

May 4, 2013 @ 2:17am

Here's my blog post on this project for anyone that is interested: http://blog.mydigitaldecay.com/2013/04/ludum-dare-26.html

I never actually got a game level finished in time, but I managed to get the shape morphing to work as I envisioned.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:41am

Hmm... Well, the graphics are nice. Continue developing this - I'd like to see where you go with it.

nintendoeats says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:10am

I'm not actually clear on what the mechanic will be. I know that it will look nice, but that's all I'm getting out of it. Will the shapes have powers? Is this a Trine sequel?

dalbinblue says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:17am

The shape morphing is nice and smooth and looks nice but it's unfortunate that a game did not come of the work.. Hopefully now that you are more familiar with Moai, you'll be able to put it to better use next competition.

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:37am

Interesting morphing behavior, but that seems to be it. I made a yellow shape morph and hop - couldn't see any other commands or things to do. Cool look to the morphing, though.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:09am

Neat morphing, but wish there was more.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:31am

It looks nice! :3

It's a very empty prototype so I gave it a low score, but I think you are onto a very interesting mechanic. Keep working on it!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:10am

Looks good, that's it. You should put some notice somewhere to help people figure out that you can't do anything but jump/morph :)

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:33am

Has nice potential, and I liked the morphing.

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:04am

Would like to see a mechanic come from the morphing. Like involving the physics engine so circles can roll, but triangles are more stable, etc.

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:24am

The shape morphing mechanic really looks like it has a lot of potential, I look forward to seeing a game made from this! =D

lorancou says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:32am

Maybe a bit too minimalistic ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]