April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Painter's Cat

by Arcana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game inspired by Mondrian and by my cat Timmy.

This is my first Ludum Dare, my first time using Python for anything more than 300 lines of code, my first time using PyGame, and my first time building a game since I was 15.

This was really excruciating. And a lot of fun. I hope someone out there enjoys the game... I thought it was a difficult progress. Much respect to people who do this multiple times every year.

(Edited to fix an issue where the Mac binary wouldn't run as a ZIP archive... I changed it to a tar.gz. Edit 2 to upload a Windows binary archive.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#47Audio3.85
#176Innovation3.64
#187Humor2.96
#219Mood3.33
#265Theme3.87
#457Overall3.26
#569Graphics3.00
#700Fun2.82

Comments

hdon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

I got this game to run on GNU/Linux. You'll need to have Python, Pygame, and numpy installed. Download and extract the "Source" download. In the "painterscat" directory, you'll need to patch painterscat.py, removing the line "import pygame._view" then just run python painterscat.py

It was a little hard to figure out how to play. I died six times in a row less than a second after the game started. I survived a while, finally, by holding down space before I saw my cat. Avoid the colored squares!

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Liked this a lot - runs lovely on my Macbook by the way - I enjoyed the musical beats from bisecting the world a lot, too. I wish it didn't close when you died! I wanted to reattempt it right away. Played it a few times though, really enjoyed it. Well done!

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

nice title. I have an old comic book with 101 Things To Do With A Dead Cat. Not like that's related. And then I died the first time. Oh well. Ha Ha.

Controlling with the mouse (Haha, control the cat with a mouse) isn't working that great, but if you take this to mobile it might be perfect on touch devices. Great music. You got a whole bunch of single notes in you data, how cool is that?

Arcana says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Yeah, the pygame._view line was a Mac OS X and py2app oddity. I had to remove it to get the Windows build to work. Thanks for verifying!

The mouse control is spotty unfortunately (if you cross the mouse from one end of the screen to the other you'll teleport!)

I should have submitted instructions in the post, or built them into the game. Lesson learned for next time!

The objective is to "bound" the coloured squares on all four sides with your paint - if you haven't tried doing that until now, then try that to see what happens. :)

I'll be back to try out each of your games soon!

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

I really liked this one. Very innovative. How did you get that level of music done? One of my favorites.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

Wild game. Very interesting combination of concepts. Seemed to loose a little too easily, but liked playing around with it regardless.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

Yay Timmy.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49am

You made an interactive Mondrian painting in two days! Genius! If you continue to develop this, I'd be interested in the how the shapes or composition is reviewed. Did I make an interesting composition?

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Ok, this is pretty adorable. A bit too much learn-by-death, but nice once I got the hang of it. I've seen lots of the minimalist painting games around, but making the painting itself is a nice spin on the idea.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

I also noticed the mouse issue.

I like the music and sound effects, painting mechanic and the cat. Well, that's the whole thing haha.

I'd like a replay button after death so you don't have to restart.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Can I do a stealth update to add a retry button?

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04pm

All right, I've went ahead and added a "retry" from the ending screen. While it would have been nice to make other changes (especially people dying right after the start!) I think that might overstepping my bounds.

The "source" link now links to pretty old source but it's there for archival purposes. The Github source reflects the latest version.

Misael.K says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35am

The musical sound effects are lovely, they work so well with this. And of course the game idea is great! The difficulty is fine, although I think it needs to get progressively harder.
I had some problems with the cat position, as he would sometimes make a jump, since I don't know where the mouse is.
Also, more than once I couldn't see my score because of over eagerly pressing space. =P (yeah, some people complain about that they can't restart, and then here I come complaining about the opposite)
But hey, I had a lot of fun with this game. Keep em coming! :D

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:55am

Great game would play a full version with some fun stuff added. Needs a goal.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:59am

It took me a few tries to figure it out, but once I did it was really fun! The music and gameplay went together very well I thought. Good stuff :)

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:15am

Wow. Just outstanding. Excellent take on the theme, my favorite "Mondrian" so far, by far. Top marks in every category, it all fit perfect

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:24am

Note sure why but the cat "Meow" sound effect almost blew out my speakers the first time it played. Haven't had other issues though.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16am

For those asking about the sounds, I composed all three songs in Logic Pro using the Miroslav Philharmonik orchestra plugin. I also used that plugin for the sound effects. The "meow" was a weekend recording from Timmy. Of course. :)

May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

I like the music and sound effects. Mouse is a little clunky to control with but besides that I'd chart this up as a good effort!

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:41am

Lol, i still haven't a clue of what should i do, but i love what i'm doing in this game :D

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:04am

really fun! good job

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:18am

OHC REPRESENT!

Ha, I really like it! Love the way the music and the art go together, it makes for a very calming and coherent experience. The controls were pretty cool but a little hard to keep track of. I have two suggestions. First, you get ganked by the squares pretty easily, so a warning system would really help. Also I feel like you should have a limited amount of black lines, because eventually you can just fill the whole screen with lines and then any squares that come into existence get insta-ganked.

Anyway it was cool :D

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:21am

I have mixed feelings on this one.
On one hand, I like the sort of freedom to experiment that it gives you, and it's aesthetically engaging.
On the other hand, I do not like its art for the sake of art vibe. It also has some serious issues with the control and collision detection, basic for a game. But, then again, this is not exactly a game.

I'd like to see this concept further developed, in order to fully grasp what you were aiming for.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:29am

I really enjoyed this. The controls were a little off, but the overall experience was strong enough to compensate.
A++ would play again

danblack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:47am

Good theme and nice looking game. I found the gameplay and controls awkward though.

The gameplay is different from yours but you might want to check out the game Mondrian Provoked(http://www.bigpants.ca/mondrianprovoked/)

Nice one for making your first game in a while. I hope you make more.

noddy2006 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

Difficult controls, but the audio was beautiful. Great stuff!

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I liked your idea, though moving cat with mouse was very hard until i understood the principles :) music was very nice as well.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I enjoyed the atmosphere and cat sprite. The design reminds me of Qix :)

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:45am

Played a few times, highest was 100 second. Death (waking up) hit me way too often by the color blocks spawning right at my position. Other than that nice entry.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Music is good. On top of that the sound effects sound so cool when you are painting.
The controls are OK, the only big problem is that the cat seems to either pop or snap depending on mouse position. It looks unintended and it does get in the way, in a base sense.
Overall good idea and interesting execution.

spilth says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Tried to play this on my Mac but it wanted me to install X11.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice! The controls with the mouse were a little tough sometimes when I wanted to know where I was. I really loved the music and sound, though! What did you use to make the music?

EggDestroyer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:00pm

This game is a very strange case of "I'm not sure why but I love it !". The controls are odd to me and I can't figure out a real strategy, but you immersed me within a wonderful atmosphere ! I felt a very good mood, maybe because the game sounds and looks peaceful, relaxing, and including a cat dreaming. I liked it so much ! Thank you !

egos says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:22am

nice game

fermcg says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:28am

nice game man! congratulations!

Topaz says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:12am

That was really good. One of the best games I've seen in terms of fitting the theme.

I've heard you can compile PyGame applications for OSX, do you think you could look into my game, or tell me how you do it (I haven't had much luck with anything apart from py2exe).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]