April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Like Rogue

by Thein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Like Rogue is a minimalist roguelike game. No stats. No loot. Just simple combat. Kill all enemies and find the exit. You die in one hit, but so do enemies. If an enemy is within one square (including diagonals) of you on their turn, they will kill you. The key to winning is learning the enemy's patterns and striking before they do. There are 4 levels and a boss. Yes, the boss is possible to beat (you just have to experiment with angles).

-----------------------------

Controls (Sorry they aren't in the game):

WSAD and QZCE for moving in all 8 directions. X to wait.
You can also use numpad to do the same (5 is wait).
Tip: Use both sets of controls simultaneously for super speed, but watch out!

M to mute music.

-----------------------------

Note: For desktop version you need Adobe Flash Player Standalone.

Thanks for playing!
-Thein

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#313Theme3.79
#443Audio2.88
#567Humor2.21
#569Graphics3.00
#696Mood2.74
#699Innovation2.95
#758Overall2.98
#843Fun2.67

Comments

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

pretty cool take on the genre, cool art!

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

I thought it was really fun. The AI is a little too hard to get around but other than that I enjoyed it, in a frustrating sort of way. The music was really good too.

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

Once I figured out how to kill enemies, this game got really fun. I kind of wish the levels were smaller. or maybe make spacebar turns the movement into units per second instead of units per button down.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

Fleeing enemies on levels can get really annoying

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

The enemy positioning randomness seemed like it might screw you over, but interesting minimal take on the graphics and gameplay. It reminded me of Nethack.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I like your take on the genre, but found hunting down and killing all of the enemies in each level to be incredibly tedious.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Hard... But very well done :D

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

Cool Art!

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Audio and art plus combat was all great. However I didn't want to have to kill everyone, seemed tedious.

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

Kinda annoying how you have to move diagonally to even have a chance to kill the enemies. Also for me removing the stats, loot and random generation kinda kills the fun with rougelike for me

Thein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41am

Thank you all for telling me your thoughts! I definitely agree, chasing down all the enemies can get tedious, especially the archers. That's what happens when you don't test your game enough haha.

heuermh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:49am

I really like the visual style.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10pm

OK that is pretty amazing achievement... and I didn't get far in. Nice mapping/graphics/playability. The combat is a bit frustrating until you realise you need to watch first. Roguelikes not my thing but yours is amazing for 48h

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Impressive entry - I had a hard time really getting a grasp on the combat though. That's probably more me than the game, admittedly. Love the art :)

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Very nice minimalistic battle I think that was very original. There's more planning needed now for walking around.
Minimal graphics (makes me wanna make games in Excel again) and I like the music.
Good one

terrivellmann says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Cool, for a quick play I had fun with it.

atraxgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Roguelikes are cool. Nice job!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice art, and good use of theme.

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:58am

Floor patterns are rather eye-popping, which makes it not much fun to judge distances to enemies...which is most of the gameplay.

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:16am

Very challenging and fun game. I love the focus on watching the enemies moves and reacting appropriately. Sort of reminded me of Chess in that every move you make you have to make sure your not putting yourself at risk of being killed by an enemy. Keep up the great work.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Good music and it was rather fun, once I understood the basic strategy. Nice!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

I have two problems with this game: It is hard to distinguish how far enemies are and continuously pressing the buttons is tiresome, especially when you have to go back to kill every enemy to proceed. More compact levels or doing away with that requirement would be great.

This game is very ingenious and challenging but the basic strategy is to let the enemies to go first and wait until they are right next to you. I enjoyed it a lot however but I gave up at level 3 (have a headache right now). I want to try again but I don't really want to start from naught.

Congratulations on the game however! I liked the white little monster specially and how they blended in with the skull.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]