April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ITTEN

by Avrec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Itten is a minimalist platformer game; both in visual style and gameplay.

The graphics were inspired by the look often used for minimalist movie mosters, using as few colours as possible.

The controls for Itten were inspired by an idea:

In almost all platformers, the simplest action you can perform is a 'Jump'. However, jumping isn't nearly as easy in real life. When jumping in real life, there are a number of considerations, most basic of all being: how you breathe.



The word "Itten" roughly translated, means 'Right Breath'.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#133Audio3.47
#136Graphics3.83
#219Mood3.33
#361Overall3.37
#419Innovation3.29
#428Theme3.66
#882Fun2.63
#1059Humor1.27

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Loved it. Really loved it. Superb audio - excellent use of sound effects for jumping. I loved the mechanic, and I noticed myself really becoming patient and focusing on each jump. Played it to completion, a few jumps felt a bit unfair but please take this mechanic and work with it in future! I'd love a more rhythm-based thing with it, perhaps an endless runner where you charge and time jumps or something. Excellent aesthetics, really enjoyed it.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Love the visual style and sounds, hate the jump mechanic. It feels so artificially slow and forced. There's one jump that's just to get over a knee high platform, that really illustrated how wrong your mechanic feels.

There were lots of low jumps where you jump as though you're going really high, but hit your head. Awkward.

To improve it I'd split it into two kinds of jumps, short and long. Short requires no breathing but is really small, longer requires the breath mechanic. I'd also allow inhaling and walking so you can maintain the flow when approaching a jump instead of having to stop before each one. Being able to breath and move at the same time would also prevent all the (many) miss-fires where I started moving a split second before pressing space resulting in a cancelled jump and a fall to my death.

:)

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I disagree with YM a little - I think being forced to stop initially annoyed me but later it became part of the theme - you had to stop, wait, prepare for the jump. I grew to like it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I really like the concept, it makes much more sense to have jump control *before* you lift off from the ground than this hold-jump-to-resist-gravity-longer stuff that so many platformers do.

that said the execution could do with a little tweaking, sometimes I'd want to jump and move right away, but because I pressed the direction a split second before pressing jump it cancelled my breath and I walked off a ledge. I think some of the windows for successfully jumping between moving platforms are a little too slim too, that's what kept me from getting to the end. overall though I quite like it :)

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really like the jumping mechanic and the measured pacing you have to take to overcome certain jumps. nicely done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I enjoyed this. Discovering small hops was a good moment. The music is good too! Also: Thank you thank you thank you for the liberal checkpoints.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Great style and animations, during the idle to move transition you could have a smaller speed though. Really hard to get the jumping right! :-D It might be that I suck at games big time. Loved it mate.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Wow. Very cool. The jumping is a little slow with the two step process, but awesome job still!

Alexander says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57am

I absolutely love the jump mechanic, so different from other games. You really have to be patient, and it builds the intensity. Fantastic atmosphere too. If you had more time, the only thing I would change is, when you fall if you had your breath held in you come back with breath held in. Would make more sense if you came back without. Everything else is fantastic, best game i've played today!!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

Overall aesthetic and atmosphere is great! I feel what you went for on there.
However, I don't really dig the stop-to-jump mechanic. Even more so over those small holes where I'd hit the head on the wall repeatedly.

I know you probably wanted that slow pace but I really think that I should be able to jump while running.

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

really great use of theme! I thought the breathing mechanic worked well, definitely caused me to pause during gameplay to consider the jumps

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere.

Jump is a little bit annoying : The mechanic is not bad but it's too long.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Wish I had speakers.... overall beautiful though. Interesting jump mechanic, I liked how it made you patient with the game, low stress is good. Nice entry!

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Excellent! Sometimes counter intuitive as the mechanic, although minimalist, isn't as fluid as we are accustomed to, but that's what makes it special. Completed it in about 10min and died aprox. 30 times :P. Great work!

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:30am

Amazing visual style, nice gameplay and sweet soundtrack! nice job!

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:16am

I really like the interpretation of the platformer. It was exciting to see the gaps that could only be cleared with short hops. I liked exploring the consequences of the mechanic. I do wish I could "lean" after inhaling, so that when I did jump, I'd jump in a direction. Too many times I accidentally walked off of the ledge.

atraxgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very cool audio and extra-smooth animation. The idea of breath-jumping creates an oppressive atmosphere. great take

May 19, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Not bad, makes you think about each jump you make. Checkpoints were in fair places and often needed! :) Having to press space for each jump twice can get a bit annoying, also the fact that you can never jump while still running (or did I miss that?). I guess I would have prefered something like pressing space to "charge" your jump, then releasing it to actually jump. And to be able to do that while running... :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]