April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Game

by m4cgregor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimal plataform game. Used Construct 2, SFXR, Reason, Photoshop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#372Humor2.53
#806Audio2.26
#847Theme3.23
#882Fun2.63
#1077Mood2.30
#1097Overall2.62
#1176Graphics2.17
#1307Innovation1.80

Comments

Conve says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

I like when the ball Die!

justin35f says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Fun game, entirely too load death sound.

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Death to the balls!

Wait... what?

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

the ball should die more often, it's the best part ^^

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Worked well. Got a bit frustrated with climbing. The death animation is great!

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

The dying ball was cool! Sound had some loading problems, the effects took too long, before they played.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Level design could be better, as climbing was very frustrating at times. The animation and sound of the ball dying are hilarious!!

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:08am

I'm really glad that you finished a game for the compo! maybe next time we can all jam (individually, in the compo) together :D

karlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

I really liked the visuals, they fit the theme really well, but found the player movement a little bit over-responsive. Nice work though, I hope you release a post-compo version.

siondream says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

The climbing is frustrating as you hit the ceiling way too often but the game is cool. Good job!

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Agree with the climbing, but otherwise a cool game. The jump sound was a bit too loud.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

It's every platformer I've ever played!

The controls are very responsive and I love the death animation/sound!

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I liked this! Would be great with more levels.

m4cgregor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:23pm

The problem is that the music volume is low... it was a last time add...

Climbing... it's not that hard. I use my sons (11 & 9 years) as beta testers... and they got no problem at all.

Thank you all for the feedback!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:49pm

It's a bog standard platformer. Not amazing, not terrible!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:41am

Nice game. The minimalistic style fits the theme well. It's quite challenging.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:46am

Very simple but fun game! (some of the jumps were a little hard though).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]