April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Protector

by minibutmany - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a 2D outer space action game. Fight aliens and destroy
asteroids to protect yourself and you cargo ship, both which can be controlled independently. As you destroy asteroids, your score goes up, as your score goes up your level increases, as your level increases the speed of asteroids goes up. At level 3 alien ships start to spawn. Watch out! If you let them get too close they will open fire at your cargo ship.

NOTE: Clicking on the Windows link leads to a ZIP file which contains the source code as well as a JAR file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#412Audio2.95
#1015Fun2.45
#1080Mood2.29
#1087Theme2.91
#1169Overall2.50
#1176Graphics2.17
#1299Innovation1.83
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

This was pretty fun, and I loved the music! For me, adding a 2nd ship didn't change my strategy that much because it was too hard to focus on both ships at once.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I got to level 3 by simply holding the "turn" key and the "fire" key. Then a red ship came and shot me.

That said, it's a good attempt!

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Way too much going on with controlling both ships. It felt like an overly complicated asteroids.

I liked the audio.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

It's an OK game. I suggest adding velocity to the ship, for smooth movement and some sort of thrusting effect. Also, controlling two ships is awkward! Good game though :)

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Well I think this concept was here before... The innovation of adding a second ship didn't make me change my gameplay - hold A + Space except for when a ship comes. At least there is cool music and it isn't too easy.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Controlling a SUPER HIGHSPEED object is one thing, controlling two is..well...HARD! Other than that it was pretty fun. In the future, please make an applet. Good job :)

iamorim says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

Good game. I like the idea to control two different objects at the same time. It's challenging :)

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:40am

The retro music is great. It's a bit weird that the ship doesn't have inertia but the rotation of the ship does.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]