April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zero.

by frankbsad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a two player vs shooter... thing. For the minimalism part I tried to take the act of shooting out of a shooter so each shot takes place at timed intervals.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#444Innovation3.26
#458Theme3.63
#496Fun3.05
#756Audio2.37
#848Overall2.90
#1080Graphics2.32
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

Really cool idea. The timed mandatory shooting and ricocheting bullets makes for a really interesting balance between shooting your opponent while trying not to shoot yourself. :P Well done!

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57am

Really minimalistic as it's supposed to be yet fun. You don't only have to keep your opponent's position in mind whilst shooting, but also make sure you don't shoot yourself. Some of the narrow(one square wide) openings were hard to navigate through and usually led to the player shooting himself unwittingly. Still, a fun and pretty unique experience.

Conve says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

i like it, is very simple and minimalistic.

LogiQ121 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:46am

Sweet Game... it's sorta like mine "Hot Potato". Great minds think alike!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:15am

Multiplayer only games always remind me how forever alone I am.

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

Cool game. It reminded me of the Atari era.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:40am

Nice use of the theme. I played with my roommate, and we both enjoyed it. I'd love to see an expanded version.

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:56am

It's like a modern-ish Combat from my Atari 2600 days. My kids really dig it. The Loser / Winner screen reminded me of some games I played in the 80s as well. Congrats!

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Nice game, well done! ;)

NiallM says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:56am

Wow, this is really nice. I love the complexity that the timed shot mechanic adds. Good stuff :)

May 12, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Unfortunately I can't rate this one since it's Windows only.

Harsay says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Cool idea. There is collision bug when you are on wall (you cant move). I need to try it with friends :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]