April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

temporary-babel2D

by alpha - 48 Hour Compo Entry


Temporary-Babel2D



game notes:


uses microphone, keys (wasd or arrows and space).

game logic goals is trying to reach the library within time for the next level

you have 60 minutes to complete 100 levels. time seems to slow down.

especially on hyperskates, on following versions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

For some reason I had a grin on my face the whole time - I was awful at it but I really loved the craziness of the concept, the physicality of it, and the falling blocks destroying everything I attempted! Good work, really nice toygamething.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

It's a little rough, but there's an interesting concept here. Also love its chaotic nature :)

alpha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

hey guys, thanks for the comments, it's a very funny experience to play around with different gamelogics. you can also use the mouse to grab shapes and make it easier, to try to reach more levels, it's actually quite fun just to be making sounds and moving shapes around. hope you've enjoyed the minimal experience .)

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Hahah this was exactly my initial idea for this Ludum Dare! :-)
But in the end I went for something more platform-ish! :)

May 9, 2013 @ 12:41pm

It crashes in the middle of Level 1. Looks cool though. :)

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:10am

Game crashes on launch. I hear a short sound, the console enumerates a bunch of sound devices, and then I get the wonderful Windows dialog "TemporaryBabel2D.exe has stopped working"

Sparrow says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Aw man i wanted to play this. I get the error at startup.
I'm using Windows 7 on a HP laptop.
The command window gives this error:

[notice] - Box2D Created -

[notice] - Box2D Created -

device = 0 (Primair geluidsstuurprogramma) //Primary sound driver
maximum output channels = 2
maximum input channels = 0
-----------------------------------------
device = 1 (Luidsprekers en koptelefoons (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)) //Speakers and headsets
maximum output channels = 2
maximum input channels = 0
-----------------------------------------
device = 2 (Onafhankelijkeákoptelefoons (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)) //Independant headsets
maximum output channels = 2
maximum input channels = 0
-----------------------------------------
device = 3 (Primair stuurprogramma voor opnemen van geluid) //Primary sound driver for recording
maximum output channels = 0
maximum input channels = 2
-----------------------------------------
device = 4 (Externe microfoon (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)) //External microphone
maximum output channels = 0
maximum input channels = 2
-----------------------------------------
device = 5 (Stereo-mix (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC))
maximum output channels = 0
maximum input channels = 2
-----------------------------------------

RtApiDs::probeDeviceOpen: device (0) does not support input!

TheSheep says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:51am

$ ./TemporaryBabel2D
./TemporaryBabel2D: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

alpha says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:39pm

sorry about the alpha version errors, it was working ok on mac where i developed and windows and linux versions were not tested at all.

anyway, i managed to fine tune the game into an art installation that toured all last year in portugal ( find vids and pics here : http://piantadelmondo.info/temporary-babel/temporary-babel2d.html )

and am super happy because just released this game properly finished as an android and ios app. http://s373.net/x/TemporaryBabel2D/

cheers

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]