April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grand Crusade

by Jack Zackowitz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Full Disclosure: This game is only about 90% completed. All the functionality is in there, but end conditions are not hooked in, the most basic of art is missing, and the whole thing could stand some tuning. Have fun!

Tools used: Flash CS5, Photoshop CS5, BFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#496Humor2.31
#684Mood2.75
#751Graphics2.77
#794Innovation2.81
#882Fun2.63
#889Audio2.11
#1027Overall2.70
#1250Theme2.59
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

I enjoyed it. The difficulty curve took me by surprise when after a few days of "This is nothing", my ship was falling apart and most of my crew was injured.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

pretty cool, agreeing with the difficulty ramp up. Nice game otherwise!

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

http://i.imgur.com/1TuluvJ.png

gregdevice says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

Pretty fun and original. It took me a while but I got the balance right, had to have more gunners. At the end nothing happening, though. No ending?

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

Quite nice. It was difficult to know how to balance the crew without knowing the effect (like how many gunners needed for a wolf for example). Got difficult quickly.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

It's interesting and certainly minimalistic. But there's something to be said about picking a crew that's very gunner heavy, and then the game simply becomes click the same spot for 2-3 minutes. There's definitely something there though in terms of the day to to ship management.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I stocked up on gunners early and then nothing much happened as I kept clicking through. Maybe some more types of events could be an idea to spice things up.

njexit8 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

This kept me thinking- I enjoyed teh concept-i like how the crew mix has a dynamic effect on your survival rate- made it to the end -but still needs the big payoff!

rzfmzn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:28am

You can easily enhance this game =OD
Nice work =O)

Tater_hater says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:29am

It was an ok game. got a little repetitive, but still pretty fun

drkrunk says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:04am

I really liked this, it was really fun. The only issue I had was towards the end at around 2000 or so miles left in the journey, the end report (The crew was able to hold them off, etc.) stopped showing up and wouldn't let me know how many miles I had left and all the sound ceased as well. Overall it was a fun game but I would have liked to see the end.

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:12am

fun game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]