April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

color bounce

by shuall - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First game jam, and this game I think would have been better as a flash game it's so simple. Simple doesn't mean boring or unenjoyable. There's 4 difficulty levels, and your score can go infinitely (within the range of floating point numbers on your machine) high.

As per the theme, I made this game in C, using only openGL, glfw3, and cstdlib (math.h, and strings.h for memcpy). I may try out emscripten to get a web version, or compile with static libs, so I can provide.

I tried to make menus intuitive without text. I'd like to get feedback on that.

Please include your highscore in the comments. Mine so far are:
green: 2075
yellow: 742
orange: 893
red: 103

--Stuff I wish I'd done
*music.
*thought off a better name
*maybe some more 3d effects and animations with the - sweet goodness there's a lot of jumping platform games.

--Stuff I wish I hadn't done
*wrote my own mini linear algebra lib
*used glfw3 (glfw 2.7 might be better for other people, I'll try and fix it)

Updates:
windows binary is up, but finicky
linux built with static glfw3 and static glew1.9, so no problems there
linux binary now linked to static glfw3 and glew1.7
linux download is now zip file with README and launcher

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1828Coolness22%

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I think you need some sort of file extension on your download link?

shuall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I'ts just a plain binary, I can add '.bin' if that makes it easier?

tomc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Requires libGLEW.so.1.9. Ubuntu 12.10 only has 1.8.

shuall says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

fixed, now linked with 1.7

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:23am

Regrettably, I cannot play :( The screenshots do look intriguing though

DBRalir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:50am

Nice polygons. It's good to see another Linux developer, too. I don't fully understand the menus, but I believe my highscores are:
Red: 303
Orange: 803
Yellow: 3003
Green: too easy

oldtopman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:01am

I can't get it to work:

bash-4.2$ ./bounce.sh
./bounce: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Slackware 14.0x64 - 3.7.9 kernel.

shuall says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:03am

yeah, I was afraid of that, I'll try statically linking glew as well. The link should work now.

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:52am

Yup, windows binary is quite fickle. Its framerate is ridiculous on my computer.

shuall says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:28pm

That's cool that you got it running, I haven't managed that yet. I just managed to compile it. Is the framerate too low?

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:41pm

vert shader compile info:
0(2) : error C0201: unsupported version 330
0(2) : error C0206: invalid token "core" in version line
0(3) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected '(' at token "("
0(3) : error C0501: type name expected at token "("
0(3) : warning C7022: unrecognized profile specifier "layout"
0(3) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected ')', expecting ',' or ';' at token ")"
0(3) : error C0501: type name expected at token ")"
0(3) : warning C7537: OpenGL does not allow 'inout' after a type specifier
0(4) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected identifier, expecting '{' at token "fillColor"
0(4) : error C0501: type name expected at token "fillColor"
0(6) : warning C7532: global type mat4 requires "#version 100" or later
0(9) : error C0000: syntax error, unexpected identifier, expecting '{' at token "colorShade"
0(9) : error C0501: type name expected at token "colorShade"
0(12) : warning C7532: global variable gl_Position requires "#version 100" or later
0(12) : warning C7532: global type vec4 requires "#version 100" or later

shader creation failed

May 9, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Sadly it doesn't start on my Win XP 32-bit laptop.

HELLO23 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:39am

It is pretty awesome to see a game written in C. The game is fun, and I liked that there is no text in the entire game, but I couldn't understand how the scoring works.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Can you make a tuto ?

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:04am

I could run the game, but couldn't tell what I was supposed to do. I figured out moving around, and got some blocks to change color, I think, but it didn't tell me a score anywhere that I could see. It was hard to bounce where I wanted because I couldn't control the camera angle.

shuall says ...
May 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Does the readme help at all? I'm just wondering if I should update it.
csanyk: The camera is controlled by your mouse.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]