April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dye

by ChuiGum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Didn't finish... :_( I'll try to make a separate one from this and hopefully update the complete version by the 1st of May. As you can see, the Flies' acid isn't really working right now.

Instructions in game.

My first... Hope you like, when it's fully complete it will be even better. ;)

If you don't have LOVE then click the Windows Link. ;)

(Two Days after the Compo) - The complete version is above!!!

Windows (Updated)

Remember SEPARATE FROM THE COMPO, took me 4 days total. :D

Enjoy!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#567Humor2.21
#687Audio2.48
#853Graphics2.66
#962Mood2.46
#975Overall2.77
#1054Fun2.40
#1097Theme2.89
#1225Innovation2.06

Comments

Mysterarts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Hey!
Not bad at all, especially for a first time!
It may be convenient to give the link to the tool to play your game :p
>> https://love2d.org/

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Would have liked to see it finished :)

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Looks nice! Would be nice to be able to restart without restarting the app. If looking for something to improve, t's a bit hard on the jumping, couldn't hit anything and the game froze on me once.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Oh yeah, I'll definitely put that link in the description, didn't know what would happen when someone tries to download this. And yes, when I finish, I will reset it when it's Game Over.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I like the art, though the background was a little too distracting.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Like the retro style :D , i would be better have "love2d" already in the windows version

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54am

Congratulations on having something for your first. This compo is my third attempt, but only my first time completing something. Looking forward to seeing it complete. The only feedback I'd provide has to do with movement. The invisible wall would sometimes mess up my jumps, as I had no visual indicator of where it was, and I'd just recently jumped to get an emerald. Maybe some kind of signal?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Not bad for your first entry!

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great first entry! Glad to see you stuck with it and finished it :)

Maple says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:38am

I ended up playing it with Love because the .exe is apparently 64 bit / not compatible with my computer (maybe you should upload a 32 bit .exe?)

Anyway this was pretty nice, but I wouldn't be doing my job if I didn't point out it's flaws for you to succeed! I didn't really like that jump was space and shoot was z. It's too uncomfortable to use my thumb on space, due to being close to z, so i had to use my index and ring finger on those keys. The release-to-shoot, and the smooth aiming made it kind of difficult/confusing to control, and because I wanted to give it a few goes to get the hang of it, it was pretty annoying that it auto-quit on me when I died.

Otherwise I think the concept you had was good and it would have been a pretty decent game if executed correctly. This is pretty decent as it is though, as a first entry. You did well. I hope to see what you pull off next time!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:58am

I could not rate it at home because it does not run on my windows XP. So I'll try to review it later.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:20am

Tried it on windows 7 64 and it just crashes when I try to either read the instructions or launch a new game

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Good job actually, but for rating purposes I had to do the compo version. I don't know about finishing it, but I do wish you had created an exit button on the main menu and had the game go back to the main menu when you die.

May 3, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Lovely game; process-quit on game-over is kinda annoying.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:50am

A good first entry! I hope you still finish it :)

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Great first entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]