April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube It

by alexanderm006 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You must find your long lost potato friend in a very strange world!

Made with:
Java
Eclipse IDE
Slick2D Library
SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#300Fun3.27
#800Overall2.94
#839Humor1.86
#840Theme3.24
#898Mood2.54
#942Graphics2.55
#958Innovation2.55
#969Audio1.90

Comments

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Man, that double jump on 5 is tricky!

alexanderm006 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

So what did you think?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

can't play. Don't have windows :(

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Good game design, nice mechanics and overall use of theme.

jhonpi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Nice game, a platform game is always awesome, the difficulty curve and the levels are great.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Only managed to get to level 10, it's tough, combining energy draining with tough jumps and it probably only got harder. Enjoyed what I played.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice and cool game! Well done :)

dsoft20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55am

Nice entry, I found the difficulty perfectly balanced :D

zanzindorf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:57am

I got stuck on level 10, but I really enjoyed it. Good job with the tutorial. With the level select screen you should be able to select a level without the mouse. Switching to mouse every time you die just adds an unnecessary step to retrying.

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:46am

The tutorial levels are good. It's a bit annoying having to click on the level each time you want to restart. Especially if you want to put instadeath point at the starts of level. I stopped at lvl14 because of that... Appart of that the game is good, I like the enery bar system.

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:28am

- The level selection should work with the keyboard.
- I'd like it to restart the same level where I died instead of going back to the level selection.
- Level 8 hurt my eyes xD
- Nice level design
- Very fun game :)
- Level 13 is hard D: (I'm still trying)
- Adding jumping with spacebar (and W) would be great.

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:42am

I found the potato :)
13 was the most difficult level

alexanderm006 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Yay, someone actually beat it! :D

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:13pm

did you beat mine?

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I got to level 14. Very tough! I like the energy mechanic.
I would echo Oye Beto's suggestions of using the keyboard for the menus and respawning instantly, not having these things can get very frustrating in high difficulty games where you die a lot.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Cool concept! I liked the energy-restriction- and wall-slide-mechanics a lot. Some levels were really hard, but thats cool. I can swear I could hear some levels say "You just startet this level? F*** you, you're dead already!" They were fun anyway :D The potato at the end looked a bit like...you know...meh, forget it... What I didn't like was the menu. If you don't let the user choose the level, don't make him have to click on the number. That mechanic is good, if you make past levels replayable. All in all awesome game!

P.S.: Levels with lots of objects have made my machine drop some tears ;)

Mago says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Nice ideas, with main concept and all power-ups/traps.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:44am

Very well made game, with some really cool mechanics. =D
Two small suggestions (IMHO, you may disagree =D ):
1- Jumping over boxes currently requires a little too much precision from the player. Maybe if you just slightly increased the player's jumping height, it would work out better.

2- Instead of having a long tutorial right of the bat, maybe you could introduce the mechanics throughout a longer section of the game, slowly. This gives you more space to explore every single mechanic and keeps the game fresh for the player for more time.

Good job!

May 19, 2013 @ 11:07am

Nice game! But quite hard, since the player has to be very precise with the controls. I agree with Oye Beto that the level selection should work with the keyboard, or that you just directly restart a level.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:29am

good use of theme -- nice controls -- good game.

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:13am

Sorry, I'm not a fan of pixel-perfect jumps games.
An auto-advance level and auto-reset level options are very necessary, specially since dying is so easy. Couldn't make it past level 13, the wall slides are confusing, and the arrows move me around too much to have precise control over my character.
I think the platforming part is too difficult, and feels unfair and over-frustrating most of the time.
Some pastel-colors for the graphics would've help, too. High-contrast colors can wear eyes a bit.
Hopefully I'm not being to harsh! It's really hard to get platforming right on the first try. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]