April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TetraVampire

by Wulo - Jam Entry

Here it is: TetraVampire!
We represent KNTG Polygon, a Scientific Club of making games from Politechnika Warszawska University.

You are a Vampire Tetris block that seeks for revenge. You need to drink blood from the enemies and replenish your health.

Rules are simple, get to the last level without dying.
Easy enough, but your character slowly starts to fade, if he doesn't suck blood. Stun enemies with your powers and then suck their blood. Be careful, enemies that are non-stunned will kill you on touch and enemies that got stunned, wont be stunned forever.

Controls:
A,D - movement keys
W - Jump
Z - Shoot blood at enemies to stun them.
Suck blood from enemies by standing on them
Esc - brings up pause screen

The game contains now 4 different levels.
If you really like our game and want to create your own level that will be included into it. Write me on skype (nick: "Wulo..."), I'll sand you the MapEditor and We will talk about including your level into TetraVampire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#448Overall(Jam)2.67
#449Graphics(Jam)2.53
#474Fun(Jam)2.27
#504Innovation(Jam)2.07
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

Wilson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

I get a 404 error when trying to download from the link, which is a shame since the game sounds interesting.

WuloTMP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

I have swapped the link, dunno why was wrong

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

No links..

Wulo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Fixed, that how it is, when you post a game on 4 A.M...

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Nice, it gets really challenging...funky invisibility! Would be a nice feature if you could go on playing but without see yourself!

good job!

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

It's ok. Basic platforming. Enemies are not much of a threat because of the stun mechanic. Life being represented as transparency was a bit annoying.

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice little game. I don't understand why sometimes I have to do the same level twice (but with different colors for the second time).

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Fun for a while, but later on the lack of variety starts to get boring - is there an end? The music on the title screen is GENIUS! I don't know where the concept came from, but it's so silly it's actually brilliant! The scared animations of the other blocks is great, too.

Broxxar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:03pm

This is... interesting. It's seriously buggy the way you sometimes finish a level only to repeat it, but then start in the next level after dying. The collision detection was a bit iffy. It isn't exactly an innovative platformer and it's missing key elements of most modern platformers (namely variable jump).

Nevertheless, all the best with your game. If you continue on post LD I would really recommend you can tighten up the platforming elements before working on more vampire gimmicks.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Cute concept, but I never found it challenging after learning the controls, except in one or two cases where TetraVampire just didn't fit through gaps nicely. If you're any good at platforming it's simple to drain one Tetromino and hurry to the next. Perhaps if enemies could retaliate or the levels included some timing challenges this would be more interesting. It's quite well polished, though, and I like the character becoming ghostly over time.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:29am

scary! nice job! control need a little work tho.

May 12, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Unfortunately I can't rate this one since it's a Windows-only entry.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Tetris vampire characters, I like it! Enemies could have been more challenging. I enjoyed the pictures made out of background blocks I saw sometimes. Cool idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]