April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Steve Can't Zen

by DaanVanYperen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can Steve reach enlightenment? Probably not. But with your help he stands a chance!

His quest: to meditate his way to oneness with the universe. meditation is seldom a straight path to enlightenment and Steve is a tad... how shall we say... violent.

Windows version requires Java 7.
Web version is a port, requires a WebGL supporting browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Humor4.12
#175Graphics3.73
#207Overall3.56
#217Fun3.40
#247Mood3.28
#405Innovation3.31
#533Theme3.56
#690Audio2.47

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Oh, Steve. Nice, strange game. Though it did crash/close itself after a while

Walnoot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Had a lot of fun playing this!

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Hilarious! Got 206,700 points by the end. I'm glad I stuck with it (and didn't break my 'e' key!)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05am

Ahah, oh Steve! I love how the rapidfire controls aid the narrative! Well executed. Also, FIREFLY REFERENCE!

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

If only he had left the pie alone. Steve has no use for pie.

berjah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

Cool game! Steve can indeed zen! Good work.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

Brilliant! Loved the humour and the setups for the jokes, and how Steve answer to everything was to fight it. :D

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

Very entertaining! A new browser window also works for those of us without a second monitor ;)

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22am

Hahaha. Excellent. Loved the humor. Especially the deer. You had fun with this, clearly.

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

I'm glad I saw that through to the end.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31am

Cool game, some very nice humour in there.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

Weird game but I liked it. Like ur graphical style!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Magnificent. After a few seconds of playing I was like... hmm... and then a few seconds later... waaaaaargh!

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Great game!

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Wonderful game. Only thing that annoyed me was the meditation sound which was pretty annoying

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very funny

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Hilarious! Good job! 211975 Points and spellt lots of poor Bambi-Blood :p Really enjoyed the game!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Awesome. This is one of the games that I will show friends when they ask me if there were notable games in the compo :)

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I can't feel my finger

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very fun! Steve it's great

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46pm

213325; I think, that, my 'E' key might be broken. lol

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

That's a great compliment timtipgames. Thanks for the kind words everyone!

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Great stuff. Steve can zen. Loved the deer...very funny!

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Funny game

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

the game is fun. you should be able to do more than spamming the e button though. the fight are cool ;)

crashbanito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15pm

This was pretty fun/funny. Very clever in it's simplicity.

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

This is not the most engaging, or longest LD game ever. But it makes up for it with sheer fun and humor. Who doesn't like humping deer? ;D

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Absolutely loved the humor of the game. Would have rated Audio and Mood higher if there was some appropriate zen-like music playing in the background though.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Yeahhh this is so cool!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

Hahahhaa nice man! Congrats. I love the graphics (and the game). So, please, play and rate my game. When you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you.

Adroitboss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

Super nice seems so cool. Great play through.

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13am

Very nice. simple controls, and good humor :)

Guardian_Bob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:39am

207275, my e key still works

May 1, 2013 @ 4:27am

I laughed out loud in sheer WTF-ness throughout this game. So bizarre. Great game, so glad I played it all the way through.

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27am

That was very amusing!!

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:42am

Good use of game mechanics to convey story telling! I had a good laugh!

Evil Cult says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21am

Nice game and quite funny too! I would have loved the ending to have been Steve passing out from blood loss but all in all I had a pretty good time playing this and loved what you did with the theme.

Honcho says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51am

This is hillarious! Love it.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:22am

210250pts. Great stuff!

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09am

Our friend Steve is a commonly called demon...dont kill! no-zen at all in this game XD
so violent omg, but fun, an entertainment

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

Great take on the theme

nilstastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Pros: Nice graphics!
Cons:

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

There is no greater enemy to the philosophy of Zen than nature. And pie.

Hilarious game, nice Lucasarts/Sierra-ish graphics, animation, writing and font :). Can't find a fault except my e-pressing arm is a bit sore. Good game!

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22pm

As I killed the birds I really laughed. Such a strange change in the way the game felt up to that :D really enjoyed it.

Misfit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Weird and hilarious little game. Nice retro feeling. Great job!

bytegrove says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Poor Steve.
One of the best interpretations of the theme I've seen so far. Nice work! :)

Gungnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Ah, some ultra-violent catharsis. The PERFECT remedy for all this minimalist cube wrangling!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Awesome work! Love the art style and I enjoyed punching that pie :D Very funny story, too! The sounds and controls felt like playing on an old Atari and I loved it :D

Morgawr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47pm

This game was really good, gave me an overall nice feeling. I mashed E like crazy too, haha

elektron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

This was excellent. I never knew before how much I wanted to see a zen master fight a bunch of cute animals.

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58pm

My arm hurts! nice entry :D!

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Haha really fun and really funny. Hurt my arm pressing the button though, but on the funny bits it only made it funnier.

PPLo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I liked the humour. Poor Steve, the entire forest try to distract him.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

funny little strange game :)

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Heh, the game is pretty funny, and the audio and visuals come well together. There was a bit too much button mashing for my tastes, but I know this is what you were going for.

Thanks for the game!

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I had great fun playing this game!

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16pm

That was the first game to literally make me laugh out loud. Brilliant.

Mikel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

:-D a bit strange but funny

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I don't really know what I just played, but I loved it. Great job!

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18pm

This is one of the funniest games I've found so far. Congratulations! :D

May 1, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Sweet, bizarre, and worth completing!

May 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

nice entry! well done!

dualtagh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:22pm

That escalated quickly! Great game, and cool timelapse!

berkano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Literally crying with laughter while playing it. The idea of a meditation-themed button masher really got to me. Ended up bullied by an invincible deer and had to give up.

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Love the pixel art and animations! :D

AlanZucconi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I'm in love with the pixel art you made for this game! *_*

BahamutZaero says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:18am

This has got to be one of my favorite things I have seen come out of this jam. 5 stars, all around! AWESOME work!!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

What a ridiculously fun game. Solid humor and I liked the art too.

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:36am

I love how I had no idea what was going to happen next. The low res pixel art is also very pretty.

Not sure if it was just the WebGL build, but key repeat made it very easy to meditate since no tapping was required.

messiano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:58am

Brillant! Just loved everything about this. Great art and humor.

danblack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:22am

Nice graphics, good theme and story. Nice touch with the graphics becoming lower res as he achieves zen :)

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:47am

Very novel story, game well executed, but i don't know why i expected more. Very good work !

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:49am

so funny perfect graphics great job :D

Colapsydo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:39am

Ah, Nature is so relaxing sometimes.
Steve is in harmony with Nature.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:56am

oups.. Can't download...

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:03am

Button smashing was a bit annoying, but great game. One of the few I gave something for humor, the only where I gave 5 stars :) "censored" made my laugh you, which was nasty since it made my ribs hurt :/

MRvanderPants says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:15am

really cool game. Simple yet addictive.

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Lol. Clever. Well matched to the theme and entertaining all around.

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Still running it after two hours to see if anything else happens...

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Fun and funny game. I finished it. Congratz!

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Cool pixel art. Shame about my broken "e"

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very, very funny. I kept playing to see what would happen next and eventually achieved enlightenment. Love the art style.

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Excellent :) Lots of fun and really funny :) The art is great, you did a lot of things in this game for a 48h entry!
Great job.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Hey this was pretty funny, especially the part with the birds. I can't imagine if this happened to people in real life.

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:32pm

very interesting :)

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:20am

That was really fun. pretty hilarious too. Nice job, glad steve can zen.

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:35am

Funny game. Steve charmed me ;)

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:18am

This is like a weird wonderful hybrid of Leisure Suit Larry and God of War.

patrickward says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Fun, twisted game. I loved the way it played, but the fight sequences seemed a little long at times. Great humor. Graphics and audio matched nicely. Well done!

Mekuri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:30pm

This game is just epic! A very nice use of the theme, and awesome way to tell the story. I enjoyed myself through the entire game (Though the amount of animals / time spent was a tad too much) All in all a very very good game!!

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:18pm

GENIUS!!!

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:26pm

This was amazing.

Boiúna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:36am

Hahahaha, very funny and cool game. It was completely unexpected.

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I lol'd so hard while playing this. Pretty much a button masher, but oh man, sheesh, and with the deer, and...

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:26pm

took me some time to understand how to play it - but great game indeed!

the art style is consistent and pure 8-bit awesomeness

very well done :)

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Hahaha. The funniest game so far. I liked that you can't really lose (or can you?)

mikeware says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Pretty amazing execution for 48 Hours. A lot went into this. It looks great. Can you actually lose though? It seems like enemies will bloody me up, but other than that, I just have to mash buttons.

jhrrsn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Haha, cool idea, and pretty funny. The mob sections are a bit over-long, but other than that it's an entertaining little game!

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Would have preferred two-handed controls, as moving and attacking simultaneously was awkward. Steve's animation reminded me of Little Computer People on the C64.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Haha' I almost broke my 'e' key. Good Job!

Zccc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Ahaha very humorous story! I really liked how it felt like a game within a story. I think you could change the sound of meditating to a more peacefull sound, as it doesn't feel like it with that annoying sound when you press 'e'!!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:39am

Ahah I loved this game, great humor :D

May 5, 2013 @ 3:45pm

ahah ...good stuff :)

GreyShock says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Great humor, made me laught several times, hahaha. Strange concept and mechanics, and that's good :D

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:40am

Really cute and nice storytelling. Why won't they just let Steve Zen?

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:39am

funny game, i love the graphic style

atraxgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:22pm

This is absolutely hilarious, i waited until the end of the credits to read all the gags. Compliments!

Rongon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Haha, loving this weird/funny games. Steve is the boss :)

Uhfgood says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Hilarious. I did kind of wonder what happened behind the censored sign.

TenTonToon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:38am

Cool entry! I like the craftsmanship of the graphics and the way Steve's sprite changes over time. It's quite fitting of the theme, too, as much of the action is reduced to press (or rather, mash) the 'E' key. Although it doesn't seem to be the optimal choice for the action key when you use WASD to move around.

But the best part, by far, is the writing. The ending is funny as hell!

Not much gameplay in there, though, but a great one-time experience. And an awesome introduction to a character that I'd love to see in other games.

Best score: 207400

Congratulations!

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very nice game with cool ideas. The graphics are well done. The first time, the game crashed, when a bird landed on my head and I pressed Q...

Typedeaf says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:53pm

This was really funny ^^

nimblegorilla says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:32am

I like the storyline and over the top pixelated violence.

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:37am

Very nice graphics. And game is a little bit... bloody? :)

aquilicoco says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice game.

brantkings says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Funny, varied and unexpected! Cool! The only thing is the meditation mechanic don't feel like really meditation because you're not calmly focusing but angryly mashing a button, but other than that, awesome and congratulations!

tcstyle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Game looks great. Had to laugh. Kills my 'E' key ;).

May 10, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Hmmm... I'm not so sure why cruelty against animals is always concidered great fun at these LDs... :(

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Steve would never hurt actual animals. These are but a manifestation of Steve's inner turmoil!

May 11, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Yeah, I guess it's something like that, you're right! :) I don't know why I dislike cruelty against animals so much in videogames, as I don't really mind cruelty against people in videogames... Strange! XD

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Time for a game where you beat up Steve for beating up animals!

May 12, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Sick animal-beating action and hot deer on deer action, 10/10. Also, props on the creative ending.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Mashing a button to meditate interested me. If you continue to develop this, I was not sure how to leave the first screen.

May 13, 2013 @ 1:51pm

That was weird.
I didn't like it too much, but I tend to feel that way about games which force me to have my character do things that I wouldn't want them to do...
The part with the -CENSORED- was pretty funny.
Good job!

shawn42 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

Button mashing FTW! Lots of fun!

Brassawiking says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Liked how the dialog was interupted all the time.

Jesse111 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:51am

That was amazing. Time's running out and this might be the last game I have a chance to rate before the voting deadline, and it was a great one to end it on!
Very, very high marks.
Also, I've vastly overestimated the gestation period of deer.
Great work!
5/5 across the board!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]