April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

dotmove

by garlicbread - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a deceivingly simple puzzle game inspired by Rubik's cube. There are four levels of increasing difficulty. The game also features some minimalistic procedurally generated music that responds to the player's moves.

CONTROLS:
Use the mouse to click on the playing field, which moves a row or column of the grid.
Hold down the G key to see the goal you are trying to achieve. Circles with dark outlines are in the wrong place. Click on the arrows between levels to continue.

HOW TO RUN:
The windows zip file has an exe that is self-contained. Mac and Linux users need to download the LOVE game engine (free and lightweight) from love2d.org to open the .love file. It uses LOVE v0.8.0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36am

Is there any level after level 2? Because I kind of got stuck there, and I wonder how much I am missing from the game. :/

Anyways, I enjoyed it very much, the procedurally generated music is very relaxing and a nice touch. You could easily turn this into a good App for touch devices. (Feels more natural to swipe the rows/columns)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Interesting puzzle game, quite clever. Not colorblind-friendly though ^^

May 2, 2013 @ 2:27am

Sadly I can't even start it because it's not for Win 32 versions. :(

garlicbread says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Thanks, AirRider3. There are 4 levels, and they do get more difficult as you go.

Alex, you're right that it's not colorblind-friendly. I seriously thought about that during the 48 hours, but decided to give myself freedom with the colors, as I had very little to work with in the bounds of minimalism. If I continue working on the game, I'll add an option for friendlier colors.

I think you can play on Win 32 ! Just not with the current windows EXE file. Here's how:
1) Download LOVE from love2d.org (free)
2) Download the .love file I listed for OS/X and Linux, and double-click that file.

That works because the .love file is basically a zip file containing the source code, and the only part that's specific to an OS is the LOVE game engine that's bundled with the windows version.

Sorry that I forgot about 32- vs 64-bit windows.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Beautiful and elegant.

May 5, 2013 @ 1:12am

One of my favorites so far. Recommended for rubic's cube fans!

May 6, 2013 @ 12:10am

Beautiful! That was crafted with care, challenging, and very pretty. The piano sounds I made while I slid around the board were very delicate and great! I beat the game, for sure. Wow, this turns out to be one of my favourite games of the Dare.

May 6, 2013 @ 12:12am

Ha ha! little_polygon said it best: "recommended for rubic's cube fans". I just came out of a group theory course and was thinking about that while I played.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Good idea and atmospher and nice polished, but really hard too (wherre is the button for close the game)?

alts says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:26am

Really solid game. You're right in that it does play very similarly to a Rubik's cube. Made it to the fourth level, and just couldn't manage. I personally don't feel like Rubik's cubes are very good "games". I found myself progressing through the stages by mentally backtracking. I'm not personally fond of games that effectively ask you to run an algorithm in your head, but I can appreciate that this one is very well made. The lines (vertical and horizontal) as well as the rings communicate things very beautifully. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]