April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I want to save the guy

by z.sebastian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Good, but not really minimalist ?

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Looks nice but sadly "it's not a Win32 valid application"...

May 5, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Sadly it seems I can't play it on my Win XP 32bit laptop just like GranaDa. :(

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:06am

Same problem here !

GreaseMonkey says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:41pm

This should give more insight...

[ben@sas zsebastian]$ file LD26.exe
LD26.exe: PE32 executable (console) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
[ben@sas zsebastian]$ wine LD26.exe
fixme:service:scmdatabase_autostart_services Auto-start service L"UMWdf" failed to start: 2
wine: Call from 0x7bc4cd90 to unimplemented function KERNEL32.dll.InitOnceExecuteOnce, aborting
wine: Unimplemented function KERNEL32.dll.InitOnceExecuteOnce called at address 0x7bc4cd90 (thread 0009), starting debugger...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms683493%28v=vs.85%29.aspx states that this is supported on Vista and up.

I *might* see if I can patch it somehow, but it really depends on whether or not I can be bothered.

Seriously guys, don't use stuff rated above "Windows XP" level, especially when it's something hypothetically trivial like this function.

Sparrow says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:40pm

It starts a cmd window but doesn't do anything.

Dotanukii says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:57pm

I like the graphics and it was a cute game. I didn't know what the item that wasn't an axe did though, and some sound would have been nice. other than that, it's a little easy. but, nice job!

stqn says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:38am

Doesn't work with Wine under Linux. I tried to compile it but there were many errors.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]