April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Blowhole

by EatYourBeef_Doug - Jam Entry

We ended up getting about 90% complete, but there's definitely a functional game there.

Smash the asteroids to release the asteroid's souls, collect 15 souls to open the warp to advance to the next level.

All the asteroids are located close to the warp point so you can always find them by following blue radar pointer near your player (souls are also located with the white radar pointer).

tl;dr
1: Smash Asteroids
2: Grab 15 souls ( white radar)
3: Enter Warp (blue radar)

Controls:
1,2,3,4,5: different weapons (the 5th gun is a bit of a joke, we know its overpowered.)
W,A,S,D or Up,Down,Left,Right: For character movement
Mouse: aim and left mouse for fire

Credits:
Lucien Alberto De Vivo: 3D modelling and animation.
Douglas Allen: Programmer, Some Art.
Will Marsh: Music and sfx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Graphics(Jam)3.87
#137Humor(Jam)2.76
#185Fun(Jam)3.13
#206Audio(Jam)3.10
#244Overall(Jam)3.22
#251Mood(Jam)3.04
#292Innovation(Jam)2.90
#506Theme(Jam)2.40
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Aevek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Great game for 48 hours. Would love to see where this was all going. Loving the 3d/2d thing and moving about in space.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Very neat, but of course I'm all about anything with destructible terrain.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Thanks for the comments guys, I feel I should point out this was a jam entry, so it was 3 days.

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

Fantastic Work, one of my favorites games so far.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Theres potential here! I'd love to see where it ends up! Looks really cool.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Very fun to just float around.

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Incredible planet destructions!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

ugh... kinda hard to see the blue souls.

Aside from that it's pretty cool :D

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

The game is nice and fun to play. i didn´t find any souls though. you should add a background that let´s me feel the relative motion and the bullets should come from the weapon (set spawn point to end of weapon). but all in all a fun little game.

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

Pretty cool! The graphics are nice -- I like the deformable terrain and the fact that the bullets are affected by gravity. I found that it was a bit difficult determining which direction the character was moving in, at first (skimmed through the controls/instructions a bit too quickly).

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

The deformable asteroids was kind of cool but I died too fast to the enemies to explore much. Overall, good effort.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

Graphics and visual presentation are fantastic. The controls felt a but sluggish though and I found myself disoriented quite frequently, More feedback for player direction and input direction might help. Certainly a great start for larger game though.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Very cool! I like the art style and feel. Got lost a bit trying to find souls at first and floated into nothingness a few times but once I found my first souls I was in it to the finish. Well done!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Really cool idea! And the destructible planets are a nice treat :)

Boiúna says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

Fantastic! The graphics and sound of the game are amazing. Good job.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

the last gun is massively OP.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24am

Okay, I can't believe no one has mentioned it yet, but... The Terry Crews weapon?? SO AWESOME!!! LOL way to use that!

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

Beautiful game. Would have liked some sound effects.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

Nice idea, it would be awesome if you developed it more in the future. Fun to destroy everything.

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

It's great! Good idea

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

A great game for 48 hours. It immediately made me think of it as a game made by the Soviets, as if they still existed - a la the Archer universe.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Cool concept and I like the art.

A couple recommendations: fire the projectiles from the shotgun and don't keep pieces of the asteroid connected when they are broken off.

Overall, not too bad. Thanks for making the game

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Good prototype. I would guess that the intention is to limit use of the guns eventually - Using the Terry Crews was basically an instant win. The graphics were good and the mechanics were well behaved, although it was difficult to tell what defined an asteroid as "smashed". The subtle asteroid gravity was a pleasant surprise as well.

donan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19am

Really cool :D
Graphics and effects are quite nice. Reminds me Scorched Earth and worms :)

luch174 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36am

Our most productive day was on Saturday, Doug had created all the basic gameplay and I had the main character down modeled, textured and rigged! Shame we didn't get more time to work on it on the Monday. Glad you all enjoyed it, was my first ever Ludum Dare... which was good fun!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

Interesting shooter! Nice work on the asteroids, it feels a lot like the engine in worms.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08am

Pity there was now sound for the terrain destruction, but is there any sound in space? Great work, I'd love to have a look at the source, some very interesting things going on there.

PiotGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45am

Good game, wanna see a two player mode, I assume it would be awesome !

Beardbotnik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

The art and the use of gravity are fantastic. The music also sets an interesting mood, though I'm not sure how well that meshes with the visuals of the game. Think some SFX might add a little bit but since the game is in space it seems it makes sense. Simple yet enjoyable overall though.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

Loved the little fat dude spinning around kicking his feet:) and the Terry Crews gun was fun. Great music too!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33am

Love the graphics! :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Blowing stuff up was cool. Needs more polish to be a fun game, but I would keep working on it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

It was fun drilling through planets, and it looked nice. However, I think the fifth weapon was overly OP and broke the balance of the game a lot, and this felt like a score-based game missing a score. I feel if it was expanded upon and added with more depth, it could be a lot of fun, and struck me as something that might be fun on phone devices.

delanghe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Not bad,not good!

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Pretty sweet, although there are some rough edges, this is a good result. I liked the fact that there is an orbit around the asteroids.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice game, although I didn't find where additional guns were hidden.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

No speakers so I can't rate audio (sorry) but overall a blast (pun intended) Graphics are nice, game play is fun. Weapons are varied, but each is fun in it's own way (preferred the big gun) Nice entry!

Kalakian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Good idea, but fairly clunky implementation (to be expected in a jam though). The 5th gun was totally OP and slowed the game down too much. Also fairly easy to click out of the window and start spamming the address bar with key-presses.

Has potential, and could be quite good if you're doing more on it post-jam

peacefulshade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Good game, cool object destruction.

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Movement flood is so cool.
Really love that #5 weapon. ahah

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Awesome guns... amazing work for 48h. Most excellent. Bookmarked for later.

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Graphics are great, the overall realisation is great (I love the 2.5D) . The game is pretty difficult to control, but this isn't a shame. I had a very good time with it!

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Ah the sixtuple-barreled shotgun, a minimalist's weapon of choice!

Mad props for the way you guys implemented blasting away at the asteroid chunks. Really cool!

Would be even more awesome if the sixtuple-shotgun has a sound, I'm curious as to what it would sound like. Also would add to the gameplay if it has a kickback. I'd imagine firing this sort of shotgun would add quite a force!

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47pm

the destructibility of the stuff is really quite impressive!

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really cool game. I like the whole atmosphere too.

spliter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Definitely one of the better games I've played on this compo, and I love the subtle touch of having bullets also attracted by gravity and changing paths :]

jerombd says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:21pm

The 3D is neat!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:23pm

I think everything has been said, perhaps the sould could be a little animated. Great use of gravity. Maybe consider the planets actually breaking and drifting apart when drilled into 2 halves (though I know this is hard without changing the current planet destruction technique). Well Done =]

joe40001 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:51am

Great name for the best weapon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]