April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Epic Green Cube

by Robrock55 - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum Dare, our first "complete" project, our first time working in team ! Harder than it looks but we will do it again :)
Run launch.bat to launch the game.
Enjoy :)

The story is very simple. You are a green square, and you are a prisonner of a bad AI named PotatOS. Your role ? Survive in the test room. But be careful, everything want your death...

There's no music and not enough levels, because we don't have enough time, but we'll do better the next time :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#228Theme(Jam)3.39
#252Fun(Jam)2.96
#389Overall(Jam)2.83
#412Audio(Jam)2.06
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50
#531Innovation(Jam)1.87
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

The Java JAR file "Epic Green Cube.jar" could not be launched.
Check the Console for possible error messages
cant run the game on a 10.6.8 mac...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Can't run, sadly, seems interesting.

K:\GameJam\GameJams\LD26_OtherGames\Epic Green Cube>java -jar "Epic Green Cube.j
ar"
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: graphics/Main
: Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: graphics.Main. Program will exit.

Robrock55 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03am

Hum, don't have any problems on my personnal computer.
I'll try to fix that this afternoon

Robrock55 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16am

I've changed the jar to a zip. Should work.
Thanks for report :D

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Launched "launch.bat" and... Nothing happened. It seems game needs something to work.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Hey, not working on mac. Hope you get it running soon!

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

same error as "blasphemous rumours entertainment studios" here

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Could have been more levels, but the ones that you've got there are very nice! Could also use some more sound effects, but overall it's a great game. Loved playing it!

Robrock55 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

It works on Windows, I'm searching for the others OS... Are your Java up to date ?
Thanks phi, we didn't have time for a music, but it was our first LD :)

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:36am

It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I would have loved to see a few more levels though. I'd defiantly check out your next game if you join again

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:29am

Great game! A music could have added more fun to it :)

Typedeaf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Pretty good game, I especially liked the flavor text every time you die =P

queader says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Yeah! I won! After a lot of deaths, though.

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Nice simple game with good level design. The last level was a little frustrating, but I managed to win.

The game needs Java 7 (Unsupported major.minor version 51.0). I'm on Mac OS X 10.8 and used the official Oracle Java 7 installation. On my system this java version isn't the default java, so I had to start the game with:

/Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin/Contents/Home/bin/java graphics/Main

Maybe there is another way, but this worked for me.

Robrock55 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Thanks for the explanation ! It will probably help a lot of people.
We'll try to resolve this before next time ;)

Jiddo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice work! The game runs perfectly for me using Oracle's Java 7 on Linux. I would have preferred an applet or a runnable JAR file tho, just to skip the unnecessary extraction step.

The game was easy to understand and get into, and it was challenging. The death particle effect was a nice touch as well!

I found it a bit too unforgiving to die whenever you touch a wall. That was a bit frustrating at times.

There seemed to be some stuttering/lagging in the movement when you first press down a movement button. After holding it down for a few frames it went away tho. It wasn't really noticeable in the more complex levels tho, because you didn't really move that much at a time on them.

May 3, 2013 @ 8:19am

Level 7 is way harder than it should be. Really liked level 10 though. that was a fun challenge.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Great game! Level 5 and 7 are hard!!!

dotteri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:24pm

This runs well on Java 6 Linux. GLaDOS would be proud.

Cyboot says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Great game, I really like it. It was also a good level of difficulty. The last level was a little hard at first but I beat it after a few tries.

As it is written in my favorite language (Java) there are some things I want to say. First, I really prefer one and only one file a JAR. (I saw you had some difficulties, but it not that hard to fix it). Second, I don't like games that take 100% CPU.

But nevertheless, really good game :)
Good Job!

Nick Cash says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I have the same error as 'blasphemous rumours entertainment studios'. Running Win7 64-bit with Oracle's Java 7

May 9, 2013 @ 6:01am

On Mac and could not run the game. Got this error.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: graphics/Main
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: graphics.Main
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:37pm

nice death effect + sfx :)

Harsay says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Simple maze. It has potential to be a screamer :D

Robrock55 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I want to thanks everybody who played and rated the game, this experience was awesome, we will surely do another Ludum dare in the future :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]