April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stijl

by patrickward - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stijl is a game based off of the De Stijl artistic movement and Piet Mondrian's paintings. It uses the RBY primary color scheme for game play. I tried to imagine what it would be like to be inside one of Mondrian's paintings. The goal is to move the ball through the colored gates. The ball must be the same color as the gate in order to pass through it. You'll find color switchers and color lasers along the way to help you change colors. There are currently 5 levels. I wanted to add more, but ran out of time and wanted the game to at least have an ending. I probably shouldn't have picked up the guitar for the music, that took longer than I wanted to spend. The music, graphics, and coding were all mine, with the exception of some standard library classes (such as camera and trigger) and the ImpactJS framework. I hope you enjoy it. I had fun making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#130Audio3.48
#207Mood3.37
#223Overall3.53
#224Innovation3.57
#261Fun3.33
#270Theme3.86
#300Graphics3.42
#655Humor2.09

Comments

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

I liked the way this worked with the color mixing mechanic. It's short and easy to get into.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

Cool game, nice atmosphere. Loved the music.

spiral says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Love the visual theme. Good puzzler concept too! Well done

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nicely done. I don't really see the theme but it's fun.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

Shouldnt have done the popup tutorial but have let the players figure it out themselves

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

This is a pretty solid game, I enjoyed it a lot! The music very appropriate for the mood, and the mechanics are nice.

Some suggestions:
- The whole game is quite pretty, but I found that the fonts in the initial screen could be less "fuzzy".
- The color shooting projectiles' speed could be a bit slower - as it is now, it look a bit glitchy, while the ball's animation is much more fluid.
- MOAR LEVELS :-)

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I love puzzle action games and this is no exception. Great work. (BTW, awesome music.)

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Very interresting concept, good realisation, nice music. Very good job.

doobdargent says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Great job! It fits the theme perfectly.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Unfortunately I got stuck, but I really like the style of this one. Also the mechanics are really cool.

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Nice puzzle

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Very relaxing game and nice concept that actually fits the theme perfectly!

disease says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Cool concept.

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

The only this missing was a crib sheet to remember what to mix to create what. The concept is really easy to understand and the feel and music worked really well.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Sweet game and lovely music! Well done :)

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Great game overall, although the music got a little repetitive.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I think you nailed the theme. The mechanics and aesthetics work very well. More please! :D

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Well done. I like the graphics and the idea of combining colors.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hey why did I got game overed instead of having a nice 'congrats' screen!

Nice game I enjoyed playing it, well done for the mechanic.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Innovative concept and use of the theme. I really enjoyed the puzzles, great game.

shiprib says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52am

Nice, I enjoyed this, though I did get stuck in level 3 or 4 and couldn't figure out a way forwards or back. Nice mechanics and application of theme!

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

Wow, thanks for all the feedback so far. Great suggestions on how to improve the game. I love them! And, sorry about the abrupt "Game Over". @Dir3kt is right, it should have been a "Congratulations" screen! I just ran out of time and my brain was tired.

coreysnyder says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Good game. Nice work

siondream says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Love the simplicity of the art and the color based puzzle mechanics. It seems like the goal is to improve the time because progressing is quite easy. The only thing is that there's too much text to read (lazy bastard I know) but you could have explained it with background tips or something.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Very cool game. What an idea of a game! You should really continue to work on this! It could really work on android with tilt control =) I'm looking forward to it!

gameXcore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I saw some of the dev posts for this one and was really looking forward to playing it. I disagree about cutting the guitar, the game would not have been the same without it, the simple music brought it together.

My only minor issue was with the jumping, a few pixels higher, but its only something small!

May 1, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Thx for this little game. I enjoyed playing it. Good use of the theme. Congrats!

Altitud3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Incredible Patrick! Fun gameplay and interesting concept. Love the music!!! Jim W

hnjslater says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51am

Really good, really run, really innovative

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very innovating !

May 2, 2013 @ 9:13pm

This was very well done. I considered using a color theory chart as an aide for players in mine, but it was so short & "obvious" that I left it out. Maybe it would have been helpful in yours that relied so much on knowing the mixes. Still, great work & lots of nice color mixing mechanics!

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I like the music. It feels relaxing. At first I thought it didn't really your game but I think it got it. A bit repetitive ,though.

Game mechanics and level design are sleek.
Pretty good take on colors and combinations.

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:10pm

great little game
the art is smooth and the whole game feels quite polished and solid

well done - I liked it :D

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:03am

This game is so cute and become very complex in the end... loved it!

ddionisio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:04am

I like the concept, timing gets a little tricky to do. I think the guitar soundtrack is well worth the effort! I really enjoyed the music. Overall I enjoyed the puzzles.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:47am

Like the idea of color mixing =)
Interesting game =)

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:04am

Neat little premise. I absolutely love the animations on the little ball thing you control, especially the jumping! I don't think the time spent on music was ill used, it fits well and lends a lot to the mood.

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I saw some games on LD with color mixing mechanics. But this is the best! Looks like you took everything what possible from this idea! Really nice job!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:42am

The color mixing mechanic reminded me a lot of de Blob. I like the 2D platforming approach that you took with it.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice concept and very good Mondrian's visual touch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]