April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jet Pack Radio

by SystemMenu - Jam Entry

2D platformer with a jet pack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Audio(Jam)3.67
#154Fun(Jam)3.22
#184Theme(Jam)3.52
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#422Innovation(Jam)2.45
#518Graphics(Jam)2.13
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:31pm

nice and simple game. I love these type of games.

mollymus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:36am

Pretty fun game! Difficulty was very non-consistent though:p

Ragzouken says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:41pm

This could have been much more interesting if you had to stop to recharge the jetpack. As it stands the obstacles are only occasionally relevant. Regardless, it was enjoyable :)

IndieRetro says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Neat concept, really fun, I dont know why this doesnt have more ratings :O

May 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Not bad, reminds me of H.E.R.O.! But for some reason, I liked the old game better... Sorry!

May 16, 2013 @ 9:20pm

That was fun little adventure! Good level design, good music, just the right length and difficulty.

bentog says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Simple, and good audio (although I'd like to hear the jetpack). But why is there a limited number of lives? This makes rage-quitting extremely easy (like it happened to me). Overall, great game!

SystemMenu says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Thanks for the comments!

@mollymus and @Ragzouken:

I couldn't agree more. Both are things I thought about but just never got around to actually doing anything about in the time limit.

@bentoq:

I honestly didn't even think about the lives system. Just automatically went for 3 lives "because games have 3 lives", right? :P Definitely something I'll actually think about in the future.

For anyone interested, the music came from http://www.nosoapradio.us/

sboerwinkle says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Not bad. Could have used more features and levels; I was sort of getting into it at the end.

zeh says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

Lovely idea. Reminds me of Hero for the Atari. Mechanics very well explored.

cadin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

Pretty good! I like that the direction changes with each level. Keeps it interesting.
I think the controls would be better with a little inertia/momentum.
Overall I liked it. Nice work.

May 17, 2013 @ 12:27am

I enjoyed this little game. It was fun to play, and i got squished on that down section at least three times before i got it right. Finished strong. I thought the music was sweet.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]