April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Scout

by Trench - Jam Entry

This game was made in two days for Ludum Dare 26, its about a fox that has to scout, scavenge food and bring it back to his den. We kept the concept as minimal as possible but we wanted to make something awesome so we mixed up the art styles.

We know about the glitches, we tried to fix them and sort out the map size but we ran out of time :(

We hope you enjoy it!

Follow us on Twitter: @Journeyint

Use the Space key to pick up apples and then the Q key to drop them in your den. There isn't much in the way of an ending but have fun collecting the apples anyway!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Graphics(Jam)3.50
#437Mood(Jam)2.40
#519Overall(Jam)2.37
#525Fun(Jam)2.04
#546Innovation(Jam)1.68
#556Theme(Jam)2.04
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

I was disappointed nothing happened at the end :(

Nice art though, and it ran without crashing which is more than I can say for a lot of these games. Not quite there as far as a game but you show promise. :)

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

Cute, even though art styles didn't mix very well in my opinion

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

Cute fox and responsive controls... The ones I could work out. For some reason I couldn't find the key to put down apples in my den, so I didn't get very far!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Nice art but really too unfinished to comment on. I grabbed a couple of apples and got them back to my den. Should spend a few days and finish it up just so you go through the whole process. be a shame to leave it unfinished.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

The art style was quite nice, somehow the smooth background graphics go well with the blocky solids. :)

TheChris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

It was pretty good. The background looked really cool, but the main sprite looked a little bland/

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40am

I have to agree - there's not quite enough here to make it a fun game in it's own right. The world is pretty enough, which made it interesting to explore - but the process of having to bring individual items back to the shelter one at a time became a little tedious, and I was disappointed when there was no reward at the end!

Art and basic movement mechanics are good, though, and as the previous poster suggested, there's certainly potential here =]

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nice graphics! But it's boring to be honest.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50am

No real gameplay here but the fox is very cute, I love the animation when he stands still for a while. You should make another game with this graphics or expand the gameplay of the one you already have.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:02am

I love the fox!
So cute :D

May 1, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice style but just need a little more to do in the game.

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:09pm

The background is beautiful! The clash of styles is a good idea, but it's too much clashing when the player is near the border of the map and sees the white 'void' outside the map.

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Thank you for all of your comments, we are updating the game based on your feedback. You say there isn't much to do in-game but what would you like to see implemented?

Adipson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:23pm

nice and original

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I liked the exploration value of the game. It was fun finding all the supplies. I don't know if that's what it was supposed to happen, but when I gathered all 10, the game just froze. Some kind of a "win" screen would have been nice.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I like that there's an idle animation for the fox! The problem was, I only noticed it because I was having a hard time figuring out how to drop the food when I got back to the den & was having to try each key in turn. Some instructions would be good. Also, why 'q'? You've used 'space' to pick up, why not the same to drop? I thought the fox was a really nice character, could imagine him(?) appearing in a sequel...

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:45am

The game is nice and the background looks really good. Good job!

May 4, 2013 @ 2:55am

Cute fox. I found the game a little boring after a time, maybe some elements for diversify the gameplay could change this.

barkergames says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:10am

I really enjoyed the artwork! Great job!

dector says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:32am

Like foxy waiting animation. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]