April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Showdown by Team Sleipnir

by TeamSleipnir - Jam Entry

Controls:
"1" Hedgehog(wall)
"2" Machine Gun
"3" Rocket Launcher
"4" Machine Gun(Fortified)
"5" Rocket Launcher(Fortified)
"ESC" to cancel building

Showdown is basically a Tower Defense game.

The main idea was to take an essential part of Real-Time Strategy games, base building, and build upon it.

However the result changed a lot due to time, so it lost some base building component(managing resources/upgrades).

First time using blender+gimp which gave some headaches but overall we are pleased with the result of our first jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#208Fun(Jam)3.06
#221Humor(Jam)2.33
#259Audio(Jam)2.94
#295Overall(Jam)3.06
#364Graphics(Jam)2.86
#398Mood(Jam)2.55
#408Innovation(Jam)2.51
#551Theme(Jam)2.09
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Not bad. Quiet fun :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice take on tower defense games. Also pretty hard! And great music!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Really really fun game! A little buggy on the enemy spawn, when 10 enemies spawned on same spot, was like being hit by a train. I kept playing and had a really good time, thanks!

chas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Fun first-person tower defense.

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Loving the game, hating how you force me to use both Windows and .net D:
(btw, hai Mega, I'm mort :3)

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Ahah, was really fun !

TiDitto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:34pm

when you run out of resources, you really have no purpose... need to gain 1 resource every second or so

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13pm

LOL ran out of resources...tough to grab them from in front of other robots! Fun game!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Fun. Kinda quickly gets hard to manage.

Radiaction says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:57am

This game is quite fun! Thought it seemed to reach its limit rather soon. I had survived an ever increasing spawn rate. By the time the mobs had destroyed my turrets, I had a sea of them chasing me. I jumped on top of the sea of mobs and ran around avoiding their damage. My framerate was so incredibly low by this point (less than 1 frame a second).

May 3, 2013 @ 3:08am

Enemies a little OP, or up the resources

Christian S. says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:37pm

The music doesn't really fit in. But fun gameplay!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44pm

This is pretty tough. Feels like it needs a bit more as an introduction, first wave was too hard for me at least. Overall a lot is going on, which is impressive.

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:25pm

great game and huge fun and nice difficulty !

loved it, well done

QXD-me says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:27pm

It doesn't really seem like you tried to go for the theme at all but the game was quite fun.

Also, if you're going to use music try an make sure it fits with the game - the in-game music fit well but the other pieces seemed out of place (although incidentally I'm using the same piece you used in the main menu for my current long-term project's main menu).

May 3, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Solid title!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]