April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Meteoranger

by Jhelle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

20XX
"Meteors have ravaged earth.
In a attempt to protect the one remaining city on earth scientists have developed a invincible superweapon.
You are the one tasked to control this weapon. Use it to make sure no harm comes to this final bastion of hope."

Controls:
Left arrow/Right arrow: Move
Space: Start/Shoot

Heyall, thanks for looking at my game. In between my many distractions I tried to make a simple arcade game. Hope you all enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#92Fun3.65
#108Audio3.56
#180Graphics3.72
#207Overall3.56
#231Innovation3.56
#338Humor2.58
#342Mood3.16
#505Theme3.58

Comments

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Awesome take on the classic arcade game. I like the SFX, I love how your own projectiles are also something to consider. Would have liked an extra enemy or two, with their own special SFX. Cool game!

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Didn't expect much from this game but it was really nice, it was a great design choice that you need to catch the bullets or else if hurt the defenses.

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Brilliant game. I destroyed my own city with the superweapon, so in a way this is a pretty accurate simulation of what would happen should I get my hands on such a weapon. Beautiful graphics, and behold, it actually has sound, and it's even pleasant. One of my faves so far.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Great twist of a concept of having to catch your bullets before they can do any harm. I like that. As expected I destroyed the city I was supposed to protect - lesson learned: never let me control an invincible superweapon...

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Superb graphics and sounds, really, really neatly done.

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very well done, i love the sounds!

Lafolie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

This is great, I love the firing mechanic. I do feel that the player moves a tad too fast though, I found it hard to make accurate movements and mostly resorted to swiping from side to side, ha.

Very pretty and innovative.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Fun little game, it was nice that movement wasn't the predictable invaders style enemies. Nicely done.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I like the art style. The sound effects are bordering on annoying, but much better than silence. I think I did more damage to the defences myself than any meteors did - at least in the early stages it seems more effective to just act as a mobile shield. Fun though!

GameRespect says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05pm

This game is pretty fun! :) I like the simple retro-style aesthetic, I enjoy the nice sound effects (though it can be alittle repetitive after awhile), and I especially enjoy the element of choice when you have to judge if releasing your own projectile will help clear the red projectiles or if it will only harm your barrier. Great work!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Color palette is great. Very old-school feel. I love that your own bullets turn into 'enemies' if you don't use them effectively.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I was confused whether I actually had to shoot or if I could just block the meteors with my ship - but I did like the music element!

evilDan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Really, really enjoyed this! I dug the soft string sound effects and LOVE that your own bullets come back to cause trouble.

Would have liked more variation to the sounds though.

Overall a great little game. Nice work!

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Very nice particel effects. I like how your weapon can cause more damage than the enemies :D

_Rilem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:54am

This was a very cool game to play. The difficulty buildup is just right and it makes you want to keep trying to beat your score. The mechanic is fun and punishes you for spamming. You will be spamming in the end though, it gets quite hectic. :P Very nice work!

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:08pm

You did the minimalist graphics and sounds perfectly to me. Also very interesting new take on the classic formula, very enjoyable to play and challenging.

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Simple game, pretty fun

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Great style and interesting ideas at play here =).

Firing accurately is a bit difficult, though, and since projectiles can cause collateral damage it ends up being easier just to collide against the enemies.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Great sounds and graphic! Simple and challenging game! Nice work!!

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:46am

Very cool, almost like a souped up version of Space Invaders.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56am

good job! so cute

DaveDobson says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:41am

Very clean and neat looking. I didn't realize at first that I had to catch my own bullets! Man, really cool feature, and hard. Nice sounds; the bouncing bullets and particle effects were very cool too. Nice work.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:06am

i love the game -- great concept using your own weapons against you. great job!

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:30am

I really loved this entry. It embodies the theme well. I liked the sounds and the graphics a lot too! Great job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Put me in a trance, great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]