April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Procedural Island Happiness

by nonatomicpaul - Jam Entry

"Procedural Island Happiness" is a procedurally generated, island terrain sim. Equipped with ghost ship, homing buoys and world rotation.

Minimal rules and minimal skill required.

Soak up the sun and cast off your Seasonal Affective Disorder in this nautical sea faring adventure. Who needs Majorca when you can play "Procedural Island Happiness"

** Warning ** procedural map generation may be to much fun for the elderly to handle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#328Graphics(Jam)2.99
#392Humor(Jam)1.64
#416Innovation(Jam)2.48
#469Audio(Jam)1.17
#470Theme(Jam)2.60
#511Mood(Jam)1.82
#551Overall(Jam)2.12
#558Fun(Jam)1.51
#1934Coolness14%

Comments

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46am

As advertised.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Not much to do here. Cool tech though. Add some gameplay in like fighting other ships and it'll be great. Good try though.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Hmmm. Nice islands but no much else I suppose. Great start!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

Quite a happy amount of islands! Not a lot to do, but that's what the instructions say.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Not a game yet, but interesting start for a level generator.
The ship has some strange behaviour.

donan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16am

Quite a good generator, but as stated before, not a game yet :)

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

To strange, don't know if it is a game. Nice minecraft cubes :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

It's a pretty cool proof of concepts, procedural land for a game where you sale sounds fun. Though with no sound and no collisions it is a little hard to play for very long I think. Even a looping sound of seagulls and waves could really add a lot to the atmosphere. Tech wise I think it's fantastic though, and quite amazing that the generation animation could function through the web player!

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

It's a shame there's no much to do.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

More of a tech demo but something you can maybe build on.

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

As advertised more a simulation than a game.

nixeldev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Very impressive tech, awesome stuff. Gameplay certainly follows the theme ;)

Mago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Not much to do here. Nice islands though.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

The aesthetics are nice, although there is not much to do yet.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Cool tech, but not very funny :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Like the idea, but sad that you go through the island ...and no any goal =/ Good work, but not a game yet!

delanghe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

beautiful game,but what is the principle ?

blackmagic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice engine but hard to understand the game itself :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Fun to look at, but not really much to it. There also are weird clipping issues with the ship going through islands and sinking whenever it hits a checkpoint.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

interesting start. the boat tends to run into the land before I can get to it. I like the way the land forms at the start.

Roffe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

looks like a promising start for something, but as is it feels empty

Diamonde says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I like the style and I had hoped to be able to play with the world some more. I think this kind of playground can be much further explored, because it's really cool and minimalistic! :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice islands that's true

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I really hoped islands are destructible :(
Are you planning to make it more game-like?

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I like the graphics, and moving my ship around for a while was fun, but I don't really know what else to do haha. I'm not sure if I'd classify it as a game per se, but it's definitely minimal.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Shame about the lack of game because the "terraforming" is good.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Quite an intriguing toy-thing. Is it a game? I'll let the experts debate that one. :)

Jiddo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I like how it looks. There seems to be a bug with the ship reaching the red destination markers and turning vertical, facing upwards. I tried the web version, so I don't know if it's because of Unity's web player. Also the ship was moving through the islands and not around them. But I really like games with ships, so I enjoyed quite alot directing the little ship around the environment.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Liked the tech - as others have said, some kind of simplistic gameplay element would have been a nice addition. The ship also appeared to sink when hitting the buoys. :O

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Maybe you can polish this and use it as a map-generator for your next real game. I like the Idea

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Like stated many times before, not really a game and i know its a ghost ship but i dont like how it just floats through the land.

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

Wish it was a game.

zerebruin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Interesting, but more of a tech-demo than a game :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:29am

So crazy! I only wish I could rotate it.

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice tech demo, but couldn't figure if there was actually something to do. So I didn't rate it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]