April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism Experience

by koudelkate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is more a kind of toy than a true game. It's an experience.
What is minimalism? Franck Stella, a minimalist artist, was interested in the way that his brush followed on the paper. He said that those ways only bring you to some paint. Nothing more.
Minimalism is focused on the essential, without any artifices.
What could be minimalism in video game? Something without graphics, maybe something with an apparent code. Something that you should have to find by yourself, like the brush follows his way on the paper.
That's why I made a game like this one.
Try to find controls by yourself, experimente it. Think about it. Watch it. Live it like a minimalist art : what are you really doing? What are you really doing in video games, actually?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

koudelkate says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:33pm

By the way, this is my first game made by myself.
So, I'm really happy to let you watch/play it. ^^

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Hey, can you tag your Application link as Windows, not application? Looking forward to trying this when I get home to my windows pc!

papazoot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I can't run it. You forgot to upload data folder.

koudelkate says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52am

Sorry for this, here is a web link, easier to download: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3y7f_-EFLyRbGRGcGpibllGM2s/edit?usp=sharing

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I can't play it, either. If you download the web link, uncompress and open the *.html on the browser, the webplayer shows a "Failed to download data file" error message" :S

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Wait, I've managed to run it through the "sources" link.

I'm experimenting with it to see what each function do. Congrats for your first entry! :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Can't play as it's missing a whole directory...

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:19pm

There should be 'Minimalism_Data'
folder next to the executable

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:20am

For everyone with download problems, the "sources" link contains a playable copy of the game.

I'm not sure what to make of it. I discovered a few things, but some things seem arbitrary.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:20pm

don't work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]