April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Up To You

by PapaGrimbles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Love story about an earthbound robot and a satellite. His goal is to reach her by jumping into space.

Minimalist in controls and mechanics, Up to You features 1 button gameplay (spacebar) with a focus on timing.

Tools used:
-Stencyl
-Bfsx
-AudioTool
-Photoshop


By Darren Briden

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#56Fun3.77
#255Humor2.75
#375Overall3.35
#440Mood3.04
#498Audio2.79
#505Theme3.58
#608Innovation3.06
#623Graphics2.94

Comments

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Really liked this one. Simple yet fun and addictive. Great work!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I really don't understand what's happening. I tried pressing Space at the peak of my jump, and at the bottom, and at both times, but the results seemed random. Sometimes I would turn blue and survive the landing, sometimes I would explode in midair even though I was blue, and sometimes I didn't jump above the green line. Graphics and sound are good other than the graphics not telling me what to do.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Also, I would appreciate if you listed the URL as "Web (Flash)" so people know what technology it uses. Not everybody has Flash.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Really enjoyable, played it over and over again trying to improve my score. Simple and minimalistic but really enjoyable

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Wow! This is so cool! Really loved this little cute game!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

It was cool, I got high :)

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I really loved this one! It's a little hard, but really fun once you get the hang of it.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

HA! Awesome. Love the ending. This is a very simple idea but it's sooooooo addicting. Great job on nailing the theme!

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Excellent game. I love how you indicated the altitude with those bars, it really helps (clouds could maybe look better, but wouldn't work as well). It's cute, simple and really fun. And the music is relaxing too!

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Very nice. Took me a minute to figure out, but the gameplay is very well put together, and just as forgiving as it needs to be.

stromchin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:26am

Why did I do so well the first time!

mipi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35am

Fun & Easy. Enjoyed, thanks!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Cute game, but with me in control, the poor robot is never going to get all the way up... :( Music is nice, somehow fitting in in an unfitting way, still cool! Good effort!

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Really simple and yet so fun. Would have thought the robot would have come prepared with a trampoline but oh well. Nice job!

dreamlogician says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great job with the theme. You managed to make something extremely fun out of the most basic elements. Impressive! :)

May 7, 2013 @ 5:08am

Using screen-scroll as a formal element! Awesome!

Blinked says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:42am

Incredibly fun game, very simple but good idea, I like it :D

CrazyGage says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Highly enjoyable and addictive. I couldn't get very high, but it sure was fun. the sound effects were a bit too loud, though/

Blizzil says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I love this game! Great take on the theme and fun to play. I couldn't stop playing before he got up to her. The main screen, the title, the ending, it's adorable .

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]