April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Physix-Breaker

by Kashi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So ... here goes my Entry for my first LD48 participation.

- 3 Levels
- no Ending-Screen

Controls:
A - bar left
D - bar right
Space - start ball
R - reset ball

Source is viewable via Craftstudio.
http://open.craftstud.io/164.40.198.228/d54edde8-44dd-4ff6-b95e-88c63a119c14

Everything is made inside Craftstudio except sound for which I used wolfram.tones (http://tones.wolfram.com/xid/9038-646-8028-648-1916%0D%0A%0D%0A) and Bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#569Graphics3.00
#593Audio2.65
#802Humor1.90
#843Fun2.67
#926Mood2.50
#1013Overall2.72
#1110Innovation2.26
#1143Theme2.82

Comments

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:53pm

doesnt work on my os. could you port it to ms-dos 6.40? :(

Kashi says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

i will ... after you installed the needed framework

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

The ball have some unexpected behviors, probably because it is made whith some cubes :).
But it add some random movements, wich is pretty fun !
Good work !

Kashi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Well i think you're referring to the point, when it hit's the player-bar. I worked with a little bit vector-calculation to make the ball more controllable:
Ball hits Bar more on the left side - Ball gets more force to the left and so on. The ball is also a little bit controlled by rotation when it hits a block. The ball being made only out of cubes doesn't affect anything since it's physical model is a sphere. ;)

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I like that it uses more realistic physics which makes it different. Good job!

jm77345 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice animations and physics!

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Interesting, minimalistic take on breakout.

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Crashes on me as soon as I launch it. No real error message, just the basic windows "CraftStudioRuntime has stopped working" message.

OS: Win7 64bit

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

first try? good try

Kashi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

You have XNA installed Puffi?

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Dududu du du. The music is so cool !!!
Also love the idea of a physic brickbreaker, really interesting.

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Linux version: You need to rename 1bitWar_Data to Data for this to work (strace helped me)

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Haha - I was gearing up for standard breakout style play and was totally thrown off when the ball moved the way it did. Nice take on the game.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

That was unusual!

Puffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

"You have XNA installed Puffi?"
Oh silly me, some how I assumed I had it and didn't even check :D sorry for that, works fine now!

Van Merwan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I like the idea of a breakout with realistic physics.
Be carefull, starting from the level 2 the ball can stay on a white block and it will never fall down again.

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Well ... you can still press R to reset the ball. ;)

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

"DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Linux version: You need to rename 1bitWar_Data to Data for this to work (strace helped me)"

1bitWar_Data? there's no file named that way oO

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Added XNA and Mono right into the top 5 links. ;)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Cool game! I Really liked it :)

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Really enjoyed this new take on the physics of a brickbreaker game but it made the gameplay quite comparatively slow.

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Since a lot of people here and those to whom i did show it out of the LD-Community liked it, i will continue development, polish it, add more levels, bonus stuff and more weird twists i allready have in mind. ;)

P.S.: It will also possible to disable the music or at least lower it's volume. ;P

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46am

A cool touch on an old game, but the bar was moving too slow for me

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Neat idea! The pace seemed a bit slow, and the ball got stuck a couple times, but it was pretty fun :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Really not feeling the theme on this one. You took an already extremely minimalistic game - break out - and for some reason made it less minimalistic by adding realistic physics to it and and putting it in 3D, unnecessarily. The music was a series of toots. It looked quite slick though.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Physics was kinda ok. The ball was a bit weird and seemed to just stick towards either edge of the screen. Not much polish such as menus for the 48 hours. The paddle moved far too slowly.

numpad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Hmmm.. The game itself is good, but some things are not. When hitting a bar/enemy/whatever, it takes too long until it decays. I really liked the physics. The realism made it funnier than just seeing a ball moving across the screen. Awesome graphics, I really liked them. Also it fit in the theme.

m64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I like the idea of using physics based gameplay with a classic game type. The music was getting a bit irritating after a minute or so.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The game isn't very exiting at the moment, as it's not extremely challenging, yet it takes ages to clear a single level.

I hope those weird twists you're working on are really ground breaking.

Basically just adding multiple OP powerups would suffice.

gmaker says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:53am

nice graphics! =)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:54am

interesting spin on breakout -- i like -- great job!

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:03am

I like how the ball was an actual ball and the effects of the bricks falling. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]