April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Evolism

by noa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One minimalistic game for the 26th Ludum Dare, only one level but in perpetual evolution.
Can you reach the better time?

EDIT:
New version less 6Mo, I forgot to compress the music, I apologize ^^'

NB: sources aren't modified

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#181Theme3.97
#261Innovation3.50
#310Fun3.26
#398Overall3.32
#498Audio2.79
#598Mood2.83
#618Humor2.14
#758Graphics2.76

Comments

headchant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Very nice idea but sooo frustrating :D great game!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25am

Really creative. After I got the gist, I thought it would be super easy, but it actually got really difficult

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

Really cool! Nice idea

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Thanks a lot :D
I wanted to do more levels but I haven't enough time, therefore the game is really short.
If you enjoy it, I can create some level editor.

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really great concept here. It's a bit of a challenge to keep up as the level evolves, however there's no real penalty so you can keep improving. Fun!

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

After the end, for more difficulty I'll implemented one nightmare mode: if you die, you come back to the first level.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

VERY nice idea, and game ! One thing I did not like is having to repeat everything over and over.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Doesn't work on Mac... it terminates immediately

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Your java version is up to date?

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Great and challenging game, a little short but very good.
Liked the music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

This is awesome just wish it was longer.

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24am

Nice music and Mechanics :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

I finished it in 2:06 minutes... very fun bro :D

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

My best score is 1:25 ^_^

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

Damn! It looks nice but I can't open it (OS X)...

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Theoretically a java program could run on every platform. Unfortunately, I haven't Mac OS X, therefore I can't see what's wrong.
Sorry for Mac user.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Great idea! Annoying but satisfying :)

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

A good idea, done in a very minimal style (which looks just fine) with nice music (is it random?).

Two things that might be improved (I think):
- the responsiveness: if you enter a green block you immediately move from the new position. A small delay would help also because of the other point:
- It's not easy to see where your block is transported to. Some transitional effect would help.

But a good game!
Oh yes: I think the game doesn't need the timer. Just progressing is enough I think.

berkano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:31pm

This was fun! Completed in 5:07. The last level is TOUGH!! Nice job.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nice concept. The controls were a bit buggy but other than that it's a nice entry. The download was a bit fat thou. Oh and ignore the guy who said it doesn't work on OS X - works just fine ;)

noa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Thank you for your clarification on Mac problems.
And yes controls are somewhat imprecise due to a lack of time.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:30pm

That was cool. teleporting mechanics were a little hard to figure out at first but I got the jist. Nicely done!

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:47am

Creative game, but it got frustrating after a while.

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:51am

The controls feel a bit slippery and the whole exercise feels more like a memory test than anything. It's a clever concept, but it needs to be expanded on.

May 9, 2013 @ 5:38am

why is this 27 MB?

itsZN says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:49am

This is a cool idea! I like the idea. The only thing I don't like is the third teleport is to close to the death zone. I keep moving to fast...

noa says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:41am

It's more an "try and die" game than anything else :p

May 14, 2013 @ 8:39pm

this game was huge! cool idea though, and very minimal.. i wasn't sure how to score the graphics, cuz i get the atari 2600 style... and it's definitely minimal... but, lol... cool game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]