April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robot X Mutants

by Brunodev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finnally done! *sigh
I think everything went well, except that I couldn't implement shop, bosses and quests...not enough time.
Well, to description:

Robot X Mutants is an endless runner made in less than 48h for the Ludum Dare compo. Its a mix of minalism + mario + jetpack joyride and potatoes! You even have some crazy laser gun!
Tutorial in-game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Humor2.76
#761Audio2.35
#817Fun2.70
#1126Graphics2.26
#1245Mood1.71
#1247Overall2.35
#1282Innovation1.91
#1345Theme2.00
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

soooo not in theme :D You take away points for using the laser? Ill take away points for every sentence in the instructions for a "minimalistic" game.

But. love the tune, and hey, it works just great! This was your first time, right? You will do excellent with a more suitable and less restrictive theme!

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Hey dude! Yeah it does take away points from using laser, so you have to avoid shooting...yeah I had a hard time understanding the real gist of it...at first I thought it would be something simplistic and colorful, so I made something simple and fun to play, then I considered that "Minimalism" could be something about having the minimum of features, or avoiding to do some others...Yeah that was my very first Ludum Dare entry! I hope I can do better next time, also hoping to a better theme! Thank you for the feedback dude!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:36am

Awesome job Brunodev! You're improving so much it's insane! Keep up the amazing work. I really like your humorous style and creative ideas.
Since there's minimal controls, and simple rules, I think minimalism fits with it well. Good luck sir!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

So diificult eith that collision detection. I liked the basic idea. Heads up.

Brunodev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Thanks Zanz! I really appreciate your feedback, hope I can improve even more and maybe one day, be able to develop games like you do!

Brunodev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Thanks tcstyle, I'm glad you liked it!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:05am

Interesting mechanic with the laser detracting from your score, but overall felt a little cheap when it killed you as the collisions were not very well done

Brunodev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Yeah thanks for your review! I couldn't really tweak the collision detection since this was my first entry and I was very anxious and had to rush alot. Even lost some features I was planning on adding..

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Cool idea, collision detection was not so good, still pretty fun.

Brunodev says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:15am

Thank you FREEZX!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:00am

So funny! But hard to see how it actually fits the theme :s

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Do the rules allow that music?

Fun game though.

Brunodev says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:33am

wademcgillis Hmm, why not? Thanks anyway =D

Brunodev says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:55pm

euwaku I really had a hard time with the theme. Still, in my conception minimalism could mean some things: one of them is something simple and colorful. So I tried to make something colorful and very simple to play with only 2 buttons. It could also mean that you have to economize the a certain feature, which I tried to make with the laser add. Its my first submission and I'm even kind of happy with it =). I hope the next theme is less restrictive.

brantkings says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Fun.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Thanks brantkings!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]