April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blank Slate

by AestheticGamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in 36 hours, the goal was to minimize the gameplay, the story, and partially the graphic style (particularly making a minimalistic main character). My first Ludum Dare, had a lot of fun! This game might be best described as a puzzle-exploration game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#302Audio3.12
#309Mood3.19
#338Humor2.58
#683Graphics2.88
#758Overall2.98
#759Fun2.76
#766Innovation2.86
#970Theme3.08

Comments

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Lots of fun :D and nice artwork and music ;)

CodeElectrami says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I hope u win! >.< Ur youtube vids ish awesome btw~

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Gameplay was a little slow but the game really scared me at times. Nice job.

Aiji777 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

Great game, I can see all the thought and effort put into it. I love it.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Nice game I really liked it ;)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

Awesome game, good amount of content and awesome graphics!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Sweet game, liked the graphics :)

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Huh, the file size is not so minimalistic, is it?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

The reason is because to make sure the game worked for everyone, I had to include the RTP, which added 200 or so MB to the file, but makes it so that the game will work for people who don't have the RTP. The actual game file size is 30 MB, and most of that was the music/sound effects.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

A tad bit confusing, I couldn't really understand what I was doing and why. I liked the concept tho, keep it up!

DST says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Nice job, I enjoyed it! :) Works in wine by the way :)

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I wish there were more frequent save points...

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

GOD DAMMIT THAT SCREAM SCARED THE CRAP OUTA ME. Good game though!

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I can't download the archive, it's an infinite DL :/
Please, use a better uploading site like Mediafire or Dropbox :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

On Shymoonesk request, getting a Dropbox link ready. Should be up in less than 10 minutes.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Funky!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

WHAT THE FUCK DID I JUST PLAY? WHY DID IT JUMPSCARE ME?

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Music and your art are great, I have to admit I loved this entry, hope to see some more games from you!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

The spider absolutely nailed me. I literally screamed out loud at that bit too, my housemate was like, "Umm.. what's wrong?"

There were so many exits though, it was hard to figure out where to go on the jumpy bit.

Really enjoyed this, it was like Chip's Challenge meets the Celadon City Rocket Hideout.

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:52am

"RPGVXAce RTP is required to run this game."
I thought the RTP was included?

GodofOps says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:24am

I gotta say, I wasn't expecting much from a horror game that was developed in around 30 hours or so. I must say that never have iv'e been so wrong. This game has delivered both in the horror aspect and has an interesting story which keeps the players hooked. Not only that but also its worthy to praise the ending since it was so interesting and "mysterious" (for a lack of words) that it made me want to replay the game multiple times. I even made a LP of the game on my YouTube channel (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FS6-ZwKhyGA in case someone wishes to check out the LP). Overall I can only say that I am fascinated about the game and results and can only expect more things from you in the future.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

Interesting game. It took me a bit to figure it out, but it was quite fun! The mood was great!

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

nice graphics and music, really helped the atmosphere

elaborate puzzles and a little scary too xD

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Even after watching this game being made on the live stream, I had fun playing and was challenged solving it myself. The audio is great, really captures the mood. Well done =]

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:52am

great job! i loved graphics!

imagnity says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Wow!!!! Nice visuals. I liked it.

Spiridios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:12am

Didn't make it past the first puzzles. I spent several minutes in the conveyerbelt room, then tried the trampoline room, but by then I was too frustrated to really want to try.

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:16am

Oh man you scared the crap out of me. I screamed out when I ran into the spider. I had a lot of fun playing this. The art style embodied the theme very well! Loved the music and the sound effects too. Good job!

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:53am

This game is dark, but a bit unforgiving at times. The sound puzzle with the jumps was impossible for me. Thanks to GodofOps and his Let's Play, I could continue.
You manage to get a great atmosphere, don't ruin it with cheap scares!
Good game, after all. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]