April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Horror Story

by MinionStudios - Jam Entry

Minimalist Survival Horror.

Use W-A-S-D, mouse to look.
Press C to crouch.
Left-click & right-click the mouse to interact.

Find the key and escape with your life.

****ADDED Linux, PC, OSX versions. Linux untested so let us know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Mood(Jam)4.26
#106Overall(Jam)3.60
#144Fun(Jam)3.25
#161Graphics(Jam)3.66
#168Audio(Jam)3.27
#219Theme(Jam)3.42
#245Humor(Jam)2.26
#292Innovation(Jam)2.90

Comments

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

Well done. The bats definitely got me :) - I somehow managed to get myself stuck on the stairs to the attic. Could not get off of them in either direction

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20am

Found the potato!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20am

I was immediately tense when playing this game. At first, I thought the lack of most sounds was odd, but it quickly added to my sense of dread for ~whatever it was that was going to happen. Big kudos on the very detailed 3D models used, and the lack of textures gave it an interesting style as well.

Though it's odd to say it, I really liked the highlight system, particularly the doorknob. I don't know why, but I thought it was cool.

Very effective minimalist horror game. Good job!

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

Almost shit myself playing alone at 11:20 PM. I have no idea how to beat it, but the mood was amazing.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

super creepy. I jumped at the bats. there's nothing creepier than walking around in a dark house knowing that there's something nasty in there somewhere.

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

I'm a sucker for anything survival horror. Great use of mood!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

Full points for mood, but I couldn't do much after I picked up the rock. Descending the stairs was pretty creepy.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

Really well done.

The mood created by the monochromatic lighting was sensational. THUMBS UP!

Otoris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

Some how I managed to get all the way to the end of the game without encountering anything. Basically told myself to walk down. And miraculously made it to the escape door! Also +1 for potato!

vapgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

That was really scary. And i had to leave my potato in the horror!

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

Great atmosphere. Just feels nice to be playing decent survival horror again. The bats got me even though I read about them :) I also got stuck on the attic stairs, had to find a particular angle to move on.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58am

I was wondering where the sound was, and then I started hearing some creepy noises. I thought they were coming from within my house for a moment. Definitely the creepy effect you were going for :)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:19am

Great work with the audio and lighting on this one! Super creepy!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12am

Indeed, minimalist horror story !

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

This was a good, solid entry. I love horror games (weird because I hate horror movies) and so this really appealed to me. So I found object selection a bit tricky. And I was killed in the lounge and I don't think I got enough warning about what I should have done to avoid it. Very atmospheric though. Well done!!

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Potato! I should play this by night with the lights turned off.

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I can NEVER play those Unity web player games. Doesn't matter what browser I use or how many times I try to reinstall the unity plugin. However, I can play the executable ones without any problems.
Sad, I wanna play this game.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I found the key and then got stuck going down the stairs from the attic. Sucks I couldn't find the exit, but I was well spooked.

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Looks great. I love the color of everything. Feels like you are colorblind :D

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

@PPLo We are working on ports, just didn't have time to make sure the builds all worked. Will post them as soon as we can.

@qdowngames Yeah, it's a bit tough, even with the crouch. We'll try to get to the bottom of that!

@ Every else
Thanks for all the great feedback and playing our first game ever!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

A tried and true formula. I feel you should of added more sound to the game, as what was there didn't do much for the atmosphere I feel. A bit cliche maybe, but it was nice adding some randomized stuff between playthroughs.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Cool game! Amnesia clone though. but i enjoyed playing this

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57pm

The thing in the basement, was that the potato?

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

@Andrew That was the potato. ;0

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Strange, on my second playthrough I escaped without really encountering anything or having to go into the attic. Is that right or did I break it?

Still, I'm impressed with the atmosphere you managed create. There were some effective moments for sure, like when you open the basement door, and seeing the red glow in the living room when I came back up. :)

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:41am

nope nope nope nope nope nope nope nope
NOPE.
Yeah, good work.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19am

The absence of sound made playing this really unnerving. I was crapping my pants all the way through so I guess you did your work right :) Good job!

MrBlade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Great game! Loved the lood, feel, and gameplay. Bit of an Amnesia clone though.

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I got sucked right into this. A clear demonstration that horror isn't about graphics. It's about gameplay.

Msquirrel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Holy shit, this scared the crap out of me, I did not expect to see the giant red ghost thing near the fire. Jeez, good job man

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

That's scary. I didn't realise there were enemies at first, and then that... 'thing' appeared. The movement speed could have been a little faster, and the key is tedious to find (I never found it).

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Great horror game! I like the ambiance produced by the few lights and the sounds. There are some lighting bugs, but that's a good job anyway ;)

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Fucking spider or whatever it was. Good work!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Oooh, Spooky. Nice work with the lighting. I also like the windows, and how they show nothing but blackness beyond. What demonic world lies beyond them?

Docteur says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Bats should be potatoes. PERIOD.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:28am

That scared the fear out of my body, into my brain and made my brain fear itself. Nice

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Top marks for mood! Wish the character moved a wee bit faster. I got stuck in the attic as well... at precisely the wrong time! ;-D

May 2, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Very well done. Good mood and a good horror feeling.

The first time I played it I didn't find any "enemies" and was able to leave just fine without much of a scare. :p

Blizzil says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Interesting mood, very nice lighting - the range of the light was perfect. Short game, but cool!

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Well you definitely succeeded at setting the horror mood. Did not expect the bats, nice. :)
Actually I dont like horror games, I cant handle the tension. They do make me curious though, as did this one. I found the potato and how does the game reward me? Kills me! hah!

Good work!

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Wow, this is really amazing! Even the main menu looked amazing. The mood is so great... If you woud have put some random sounds in, I would have shit myself. A masterpiece...

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:18pm

bloody scary, but great fun!
love it :)

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Good atmosphere and use of light. Had trouble finding the correct position to interact with objects. The objects were designed well, simple and yet detailed. Well Done =]

scottychips says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:32am

Pretty creepy- would love to see what your team would have done if you had even more time.

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:16am

ahhhh im such a little bitch when it comes to games like this ! look the atmosphere :D and nice job on all graphics

rujo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:14am

sure it's minimalist but the athmosphere manage to be as creepy as hell!
well done man!

Hatscat says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:02am

well done ^^

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Thanks to everyone for the great comments and thanks for playing and rating! You make a few devs from Wyoming very happy and welcome...

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Great mood and art! Congratz!!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Wow - I honestly doubted that this would creep me out; I feel a bit desensitized to this stuff sometimes. But man, that bat scared the hell out of me! Great job!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:23am

Enjoyed playing this game, played it again so I could escape. I wish something would pop up in the pitch black windows to scare me unless I missed it.

allinlabs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:18am

Loved that the candle is burning, pretty creepy, I was stress to end up in the dark. Remind me Amnesia, which is a good thing.
Searching in the furniture was kinda hard and boring. I like the game though

Lizzip says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:44pm

You know how to do mood, damn!

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Wow, that was creepy. I made it down to the basement, and something killed me, not sure what.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Creepy~

Diamonde says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Oh crap.. those bats were too much for me :D
This was really creepy, but very well done! The whole experience is so minimalistic and lets the horror shine through!

Hayawi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I don't usually like horror games as they are a worn out genre that does not introduce new mechanics, and instead relies on cut and paste. This is no exception.

bentog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Good, but it's not that scary :) Also pointing at things to interact with them is difficult.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:42am

Spooky stuff. Those 3d models are keen, and the atmosphere was great.

Adipson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:18am

nice ambiant

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Good job... I had some issues with the highlights, sometimes when I was looking straight at the object, it wouldn't highlight, I would get back a few steps, then it highlighted... Detracted a bit from my experience, but the rest was very nice, great art-style!

Galvesmash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Great game! Great ambient, 3D models, horror sounds! XD
The mouse sensitive was too fast! D:
At the first time I didn't find the key and the bats got me. In the second time the key way in my badroom making the game easy! (Cool potato!)

SamoojaMies says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Candle burning out is a good idea. Nice mood!

LeafThief says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I get the feeling that it suffices to put "horror" into the title and the player into a dark room. I know for sure I did the rest. It wasn't so much the ambient effects (bats, rocking chair) that scared me but the silence and knowing there might be something.
I jumped when it was too late. Only saw red ^^.

The candle was a very neat idea

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:33pm

At first I thought it was a game with a creepy/scary atmosphere and the fire in the bar almost made me scream :D
All the interactions with the NPC and the background are a big plus.
Overall, very nice mood, really too bad it's not completely finished ^^

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Disregard my comment^ (wrong game again... sorry about that ><).

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Minimalistic and scary! The potato was without the best part. ++ for Humor!

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Scared the everloving shit out of me. Well done.

thatwhichis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I escaped the horror! Also, rocking chair. ::shudder::

john_conder9 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Oh when I clicked your name to see and I saw it was a horror game, oh man. I was not happy, but I knew I had to play it. The red "stuff" whatever was inside of it scared the living crap out of me. Thanks. No really, thanks ... I was going to do laundry anyway today, so I mean, whatever.

As for the game play, well, it was phenomenal! I really felt tense when the candle started to burn away, I wasn't sure how much time I had left. The sounds were a bit strange but I think it added to it, and watching that rocking chair spaz out was... unpleasant. I think those were the goals? If so, you landed on them fancily.

I beat it on the second play through, once I realized that most of the stuff in the game is a red-herring. Great job overall!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Really liked the atmosphere and lighting effects. Having the key randomly placed each time gives me a reason to play it again.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:14am

@LeafThief - It is amazing how little we did to evoke the chills in this one. Turns out that lighting distance is one of the spookiest things ever.

@john_conder9 - Glad you gave it a shot! Some of these objects were going to be more useful...

@thatwhichis - Rocking chair is a glitch that we left for evil effect. We loved it broken as it was!

Thanks for the great comments! We all appreciate all of you!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:53am

.....
.....
.....
...GAAAAAAAAAAAH!
NOPE, NOPE, NOPE, NOPE, NOPE!

May 6, 2013 @ 5:24am

It's incredible how much can be accomplished with lighting and sound. I'm absolutely terrible with horror games, so needless to say this had me nervously hugging the walls from the beginning. Some of the small touches were the most effective - the knocked-over chair in the kitchen, for example. Well done.

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:25am

Beat it on the second run. Nice minimalistic atmosphere!

DST says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:02am

hi, thank you for telling me my link was broken :)

You've got a really cool game there! Very moody and the "sepia like" colors fit so very well! It has a really eerie atmosphere and was quite an experience to play! :)

GranaDa says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:58am

The camera moves too fast making the player looks like it's on drugs not in despair ^^. Otherwise, nice mood. Good job!

TheSheep says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Any chance for linux binaries?

May 6, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Very nice mood and tension, good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:14pm

@TheSheep - Sorry, no on the Linux binaries. The web player is the best option we can provide for Linux users so far...

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Clicking on drawers and things is tricky. I can't get into the attic (I assume that is where the bats everyone mentions are) managed to get out anyway, with a potato :D Nice mood. I never actually encountered anything to "survive" against though, played through twice =/

michail says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Wow, that was really scary. As someone mentioned - I have already read about bats, but it didn't prevent me from jumping on my chair when I first saw them ;)

May 7, 2013 @ 12:38am

Oof, creepy! Don't want to play this again. Yes I am a weenie.

radmars says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:19pm

really awesome! Great mood, nice simple graphics.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Brilliant atmosphere and it almost reminded me of Amnesia. No better praise I can think besides that.

dem0 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:26pm

The collision detection and light were really buggy but the game was nice experience overall, especially to be made in such a short time :P

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I almost have an heart attack. Scary and well made. Compliments!

TiDitto says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:06pm

well, all i pretty much saw was giant black squares (shadow glitches) but the title was scary...

uberneen says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:53am

Very good work. I escaped!

robotality says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:03am

Very well done. Really tense vibe. :) Liked it alot.

psychopsam says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:42am

WoW!!!!! You scared me with a video game! And I me SHOCKED me! Nice work. Replayable too. Will come back to this one. Very well executed. Play with headphones on and lights out. Going down stairs was super freaky, as was turning corners, and opening things...

FREEZX says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Damn bats, nice one :D

aquilicoco says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Good work!

mrexcessive says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:56pm

That's awesome and damn it made me jump.

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:37pm

good job on this game, I personally think that there should have been some noises throughout, just to show that the game hadn't broken or something

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:11am

Thanks for all the feedback everyone. Very helpful. TiDitto what platform (Win, Mac, Linux...) were you trying to play the game on? Thanks again for playing our game folks.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:12am

Really scary in its minimalism! :)
I like the lighting system. I played desktop version to enjoy game at his better.

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Reminds me a lot of a wii game.
Well done.

BradleySmith says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I jumped right before I died, bravo! :L

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:48am

Scary. We wussed out before we even got into the game at all, so we left some generous ratings. Sorry.

enzo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:29am

Ughh super creepy, I can't handle it
Great game!

PaulSB says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Terrifying. Maybe I'm a wuss but I could hardly persuade myself to go downstairs, ha. I don't really know where I was meant to be going - there seemed to be a lot of interactive things without purpose... which is fine but I felt like I might be missing something. The atmosphere was fantastic.

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Really awesome game. Gave me goosebumps for sure.

Almax27 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:26am

This was great! Very impressed how much atmosphere you got out of a single light and untextured objects. The ending made me jump too :D

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I so didn't wanna play this one =( Eerie as hell. Go stressed out by how slow you were walking and the candle that started to wither away.

Misael.K says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:20am

At first I wasn't sure if there was something out there or not. Why, oh, why, did I have to find that key.
True horror! Until I met the grue... While I was still tense, the slow escape and the slow chase were more funny than scary. Maybe if the player was faster, but ghostly hands came from under the floor and grabbed the player rendering him unable to move.
I think what LeafThief says is key. Horror games are more about "what if" than the actual thing. I expected to find creatures watching me through the windows, maybe a pale face hovering from around a hallway. Instead I found a real enemy, who ended my game prematurely. In my second playthrough, I knew the enemy wouldn't come until I grabbed the key, so I didn't experience any of the tension that my first playthrough had.
I believe you guys did a great job, but just like the movie Signs (from M Night Shyamalan), it falls short at the end.

Mekuri says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:39am

Awesome! I got tense the minute I started playing. The game was really creepy, especially while wondering if anything at all would happen. I managed to find the key, but found nowhere to use it before I perished. Really really nice mood in this game, and nice use of simple textures!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:01am

Nice atmosphere. A bit too much dark, and it's a bit disturbing to not see the mouse cursor.

Mago says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Realy scary and very moody. Great work on graphics.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Good atmosphere. Really creepy.

MinionStudios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:48am

Thank you all for the comments! Much of what you all suggest are truly insightful and very much appreciated. We have voted on over 500 games and will have a post-compo version of the game out soon.

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nice little game. I expected something to appear at every window I walked past :D I missed the bats as well.

Jhelle says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Finished it. Liked the graphics. The mood was good but I am terrible at scary games so full points for that :p

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:21am

I jumped. I also think I was eaten by a grue. VERY good graphics and mood. Great game.

krutech says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:15pm

scary as hell! nicely done.

imagnity says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:17am

#@#%$@!!!!!! WTF!!!!! Almost had a heart attack! The sound of footsteps in the stairs already crooked me and then started fu**ing withering.. You should put a caution or something. I gave 5 stars so that this doesn't show up in my dreams! You should definitely make something like The Exorcist!

May 17, 2013 @ 1:57pm

spooky.. good stuff.. i dont know why tho but EVERY unity game i try the mouse is almost uncontrollably sensitive :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:00am

ok -- i actually screamed when the bats came out of the attic -- nice job

Aevek says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:22am

Jesus dude. My heart is pounding. Seriously scary game. And pretty much all the scariness came from lighting and sound, which is really good. Excellent job, good sir. Even if I do need a clean pair of pants after that ghost.

Orni says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:03am

very nice game, the textureless style looks very smooth and great - loved it

well done :D

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:50pm

What a cruel joke to make me switch my key for a potato right at the end. Liked this a lot, particularly how scary it is not to be able to see very far in front. Silence then footsteps was actually pretty frightening, also chair going crazy. I think more sound would definitely help a lot, and a bit more of an involved environment with more scary touches (I pretty much walked from start to finish). Good job.

infernet89 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I perished :( Very scary entry, and very nice job on modeling all the fornitures in so little time!

iFred_QC says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Only thing missing was my own footsteps I'd say.

Harsay says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Heart attack.

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Even if it was minimal, it did actually work well :) Very intense.

hgouveia says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Great game , those bats made me jump xD

Komradus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:07am

Terrifying atmosphere, well done.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:10pm

First of all, thank you for commenting on my game!

At first I thought the minimalism was in the horror of being alone in a house at night. Then came the creepy red smoke thing that gave me chicken skin. Took me three tries to figure out what I had to do though x3

Great job!

Sestren says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:10pm

The mood was fantastic on this one. It's hard to genuinely creep the player out in any game, but you succeeded on that front, in my opinion.

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nice atmosphere, but I just beat the game without encountering anything bad.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Fun :P I don't know how I died, but it happened when I touched a box o_O. I am not sure if the key was supposed to be in different places each time I played, but it was. Nice lighting!

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Thanks for all the great comments and feed-back! We just recently passed the 600 games voted! WooHoo!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:58am

First the bats scared me, then some ghost downstairs got me real good. The monster sounds really add a lot to its creepy atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]