April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Babel

by Merkoth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist dungeon crawler with turn-based combat. Find your way out of the Babel tower. Step into a blue cube to get to the next level of the tower. Fight you way through the maze by using a simple Rock, Paper, Scissors system.

*REQUIRES JAVA*

Controls:
Arrows / WASD - Movement
Mouse - Select attack type during combat.

*POST COMPO UPDATE #1*

- Made movement smoother.
- Fixed dumb crash when clicking the mouse outside of a fight.
- Added WASD movement.

Downloads:

Win: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3262289/babel/latest/babel-win32.zip

Linux: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3262289/babel/latest/babel-linux32.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#663Graphics2.90
#778Theme3.31
#899Audio2.10
#972Mood2.44
#984Humor1.63
#1115Innovation2.25
#1152Overall2.53
#1237Fun2.02

Comments

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

I cant move/aim/whatever, after pressing enter it just stays still :/ (havent rated trough)

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

It's curious that I actually made a game inspired by the tower of Babel hahah! :-)

Did you get the inspiration from the "Ancient ruin" theme? :-) I did! :)

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

@Manuel777 Other people said the same... I'm not sure what's causing it. You can move and rotate the camera using the keyboard arrows in theory, but some people seem to be having issues.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

@AlanZucconi I'll make sure to check out your game :) TBH, I ran out of time so Babel is more of a codename than an actual inspiration :P

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Liked the colors and the concept. Not sure I understood the combat mechanics :)

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

I think the combat was random on purpose? It kind of takes the strategy away, which was what I was looking forward to the most. But I guess that's what makes it minimalist. I too loved the chosen colors.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Smoother rotation would have been nice, otherwise nice idea =D I don't think I've ever seen a turn based free 3d dungeon crawler before

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

At first, I was like ... So when does something show up on this 2d game.

Then I was like, oh! It's 3d!

Then I met this symbol that showed three more symbols and I was confused.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I like the simple style. Controls are slightly awkward and if I click, I can't move anymore :(

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

The fact that everything looks the same makes it really frustrating. Also, it would be nice if the movement controls were on WASD.

The inclusion of symbols as enemies, however, is inspired. It emphasizes the Babelness. Admittedly, I still don't entirely get how the combat system works.

What I'm saying is that your game about the tower of Babel needs to impart more information XD

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

The controls were a bit dodgy and I didn't see any enemies, then a sign with a shape blocked my entire field of view.... beneath it were three more shapes, and no explanation of any of it... so I died.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I also had issues with the controls, but eventually they sort of worked. Reached floor 7 and then I died after an unlucky streak :(

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Ha, another raycaster, coool! :-) The color palette is great! Sadly, my machine doesn't seem to be fast enough. Walking is more turn-based rather than a fluid motion here. Also, I'm not entirely sure I understand the combat - I always die, somehow...

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I liked the twitchy letters on the title screen. Combat is somewhat random, I don't really get mechanics.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I felt a little lost. I guess that is part of the point. Very nicely done.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I agree with those praising the color palette. Walking around the environment was really pleasant. Sort of felt like PS1-era exploration games such as King's Quest or LSD: Dream Emulator.

The one thing I failed to grasp was the combat system. I feel like there's something very specific going on that I'm missing. Perhaps consider giving a bit of help for the player the first time they enter a battle?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Excellent pallet choice and simple clean visuals fit the theme very well. I also noticed you released on many platforms which is awesome! Controls worked but had an issue where when you hold a key down it takes about a second before it starts moving in the direction, in the same way that holding a button works in this text box. Actually... it seems like controls stopped responding after I switched away and back to your game. I could not figure out the puzzles, it seemed like there was no correct answer. Also I think you need add some kind of "landmarks" to help players navigate. For example if these rune things were actually painted on the walls. After stumbling around I eventually found a blue cube and it disappeared, I will accept that as a victory.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Thanks for the comments people, lots of useful stuff there. I'm seriously thinking about polishing it and releasing it later :)

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

I had problem with the input too, and got it works after few tries. When that happened, CPU usage spikes pretty high. There are lot of frame skip too. I'm on linux 64bit. However I get the concept - fits the theme very well. :)

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

@Drabiter The movement IS choppy because I didn't code it to be smooth ebough, maybe it isn't really frameskipping. Thanks for your comments too :)

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19am

I had issues running the game (Win7 32 bit, JRE 7 Update 21), but after running a few times, it worked. :'D I realized what I was doing, though -- it seems clicking on the screen makes the game unresponsive. I ran the game several times, and each time, the game hanged when you click on it, no matter which click you used (right click, left click, middle click). I hope this helps in your debugging. :)

As with the others, wonderful choice of colors! For me, it had a sort of empty, creepy feel to it, as well as implying a desert-like theme.

I understood the turn-based style of movement, but I would have loved it if there was less wait time when you held down a movement button, and if you made the repetition less quick. I was either pressing on the arrows repeatedly, tiring myself out, or I was holding down the arrow keys, only to suddenly let go because I was turning too fast or going forward way too fast.

The battle system was okay, and I eventually understood how it works (thanks through the description above too :) ), though it would have been better if the game showed which attack the enemy chose.

The sound on the battles seemed to have bugged on me, though -- it seemed the sound effects were cut just as they started playing. I'm not sure if this was intended, but I found it strange, especially because the first time the sound effects played, it sounded longer and more complete. O_O

And my playthrough seemed weird -- after dying once, I replayed the game, killed one enemy, and got 600 atk and def. Is it part of the randomness? :O (I still died on a battle though LOL)

Still, looking forward on what you'd be doing with this. Cheers! :D

--kazukishida

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:01am

Reminded me so much of "Total Eclipse," an '80s-era 3D game where you explore a pyramid and solve puzzles. Good times. I just wish I could figure out the battle system. XD

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:03am

I was a bit confused in playing this game. Not sure what the blue cubes do etc. Regardless it was a cool looking game. Nice job.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I don't get the combat system :/

The idea is nice but if I knew how my actions affected the game, it would be better :P

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:32pm

This was an interesting game. I do wish it had some music and maybe a progress indicator. It would also be nice if combat wasn't entirely random. Maybe each enemy has a tendency to do one attack over the others? Right now it feels like I might as well as just hit the square every time. Regardless of all of that, good work :)

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I have no idea what I'm doing. This is great.

The controls could use some work.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I totally didn't get it. What am I supposed to do? The game didn't work the first 2 times, I needed to close and start it again. The graphics are minimalistic, but I miss music and I totally don't understand what I'm supposed to do. Also I think I died with level 5 just moving around without any fight. Strange.

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:50am

The combat system was a little confusing and strangely slow, but exploring was surprisingly fun.

f7f5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Looked promising, but the controls were a bit awkward because the movement - especially turning - wasn't very smooth. And I couldn't understand the combat system (some symbol just popped up from nowhere and there was long wait between choosing an action an getting the result).

May 13, 2013 @ 7:21am

The combat never made much sense to me, and the movement was often a struggle. Aside from adding mouse support to look around (I can understand why you didn't do this), there definitely needs to be some tweaking in how smooth and/or fast turning in a direction is.
The art-style was surprisingly effective, and along with the title of the game gave it a very cohesive and interesting mood. Great job!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I can't move with WASD, I have to play old school and rotate with the arrow keys :P

Are the levels randomly generated? If so, that's really cool. Is there an end though? And can you level up past Level 2? I found the combat kind of pointless and unresponsive (at times I'd click the buttons and nothing would happen, and a clicking animation or sound would help immensely)

Regardless, congratulations on making a game for the compo!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]