April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Be A Minimalist

by 2kah - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD, feels good!

Controls are simple, just click on 2 colours to swap them (can be any 2 colours, not just ones in the same triangle)

Make sure none of the same colours are touching within each white triangle to win.

For example, if there are 2 blue lines touching within a white triangle, swap one of them with another colour somewhere else.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#249Theme3.88
#294Audio3.13
#396Innovation3.33
#664Overall3.07
#798Graphics2.72
#839Humor1.86
#940Fun2.56
#1030Mood2.37

Comments

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I like it, great interpretation of the theme.

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I ran the Windows version, but it says that it is not a valid Win32 application.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

space experience, but i can't finih the game

2kah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

DreamThorn, are you using a 32 bit system? I haven't got one to test with but that may have been the problem. I've uploaded a new binary that should fix the problem if so.

egos, if you can't finish then it's probably one of the colours right in the middle. The little ones in the top and bottom triangle always catch me out too!

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Clic, sound, clic, sound, clic, sound, clic, sound. Awesome.

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

This was fun. My best time was 5.3s.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Great concept!
The sound FX fits well with the concept: switching the colours is like playing minimalist/ambiant piano piece! ... honestly, I didn't understand quite well the gameplay but I had a lot of fun playing with the sound & the colors :D

(works fine on my Windows8/64bit system)

2kah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

jerombd, thanks, it took me ages to work out the sounds so I'm glad you like it :) For such a simple game it's hard to explain the gameplay, but I'll try putting a better explanation in the description.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

The message at the end is great, shows the consistency of the theme (minimize time, make a minimal work of art, minimal gameplay of single button). Good work.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Didn't really understand what I was supposed to be doing but this was fun nonetheless. The sound was quite nice, good job :)

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Interesting idea. Was strange that the colors were automatically changing, not giving me any time to plan a move. I beat it in 30 seconds.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Interesting. I like how the controls and general visual aesthetics reflect the simplicity of the theme.

kernel panic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Nice touch with the piano!

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:53am

really nice! ^-)

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:37am

Nicely made, although the game doesn't require much thinking or dexterity. It's kind of artistic though ;).

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:26am

Simple, but fun! The piano music that you create while playing is very nice, too. :)

geepit says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Simple but cool idea, real nice!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Wouch, really hard to understand it's frustrating (and why the line change againt you ?). But it's a good game when you understanfd the rules and the mechanism. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]