April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness

by LrdKzrth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game now runs on Windows 7 64Bit!

My first Ludum Dare game is "Darkness" - the idea is simple. You are alone in a cave, with no idea of where you are. You have to get to the surface, using only the light from your mobile phone, which has low battery.

The game is coded in DarkBasic Pro, and all source code is included with the game.

The minimalistic theme is incorporated with minimal light and minimal time to get to the surface.

Any bugs, etc., can be reported to my twitter @LrdKzrth

The models and textures were created by myself, the code was produced by myself, but the sound effects were obtained legally through a sound effects library online (http://www.freesound.org/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#342Mood3.16
#703Audio2.45
#853Graphics2.66
#997Innovation2.48
#1022Humor1.52
#1080Theme2.92
#1146Overall2.54
#1214Fun2.10

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

Quite immersive for some reason. It seemed a bit blank though.

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03am

All I get is a black screen (Windows 7 x64).

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Does not seem to work for me for some reason, I just see a black screen and some sounds.

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Good mood and feeling to the game, reversed controls were a nice touch. Needed more gameplay in my opinion

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

'Runtime Error 506 - Could not load image at line 221.'

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

doesnt work

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08am

You might need to run this game with Administrator Permissions. What OS are you using Hiku and cmayhem?

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

Hmm... Does not seem to like Windows 7 (x64)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

What OS are you using myachin?

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

This has convinced me to never go caving, that was a creep experience, but well made

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

Thank you karsyf

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

the box room and the repeated model killed the atmosphere, but it was cool for a while. also forgot to read the part about escaping before playing it, oops.

64Mega says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

It was decently done. Though a simple height-map on the floor or some rocks would've broken things up a bit. I like the idea though; you should try to expand on it.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

I agree with Kristian... quite immersive. I kinda wonder if the game is winnable in any way.

I've both wandered along the outside wall of the cave and took random stabs at the inside. It appears that the cave is shaped somewhat rectangularly and that the exit is not on the outer wall.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Thank you all for your feedback. There is a way to win the game, Semi, you need to find the exit, but it's not where you'd expect it to be... ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

Not bad at all. Could be quite creepy actually if you added some gribbly creatures to eat you (although that might make the game less minimalist). You've done the lighting well.

Obviously it worked for me but I develop in DBP so I have everything set up for it. I'm on Windows 7 x64 and got the same blank screen at the start but a single left mouse click fixed that for me. For the people who can't get it to work, DBP is reliant on DirectX 9c so you'll need that to get it to run. LrdKzrth maybe you could include the DX9c installer in the download for the people who need it? And I didn't need admin permissions.

I noticed a couple of hitches (getting caught on rocks, white lines across the screen when the battery is about to die and the highlighted exit text displaying twice) but overall, a good showing. Well done.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

Hi Lucas. Thank you for the feedback.

Would you say the collision was a bit... rocky...?
As for the white lines, they're meant to be there, to act as a warning that the battery is going to run out, like screen flicker.
But the exit text, that's a whoops that I overlooked when I repositioned the menu text XC

But thank you for the feedback!

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Same as MagiMaster, win7 64bit and it just blanks the screen and sits there. As soon as I try to get back to the desktop it stops responding. :(

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I like it, the collision is a bit iffy and I couldn't find the end but what I played was good.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very flat, but it has a good mood to it. The "cell phone as light source" mechanic is ripe for exploration.

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

> the sound effects were obtained legally through a sound effects library online

You may have some issue here, as this is unfortunately against the compo rules:

"All game code and content must be created within the 48 hours. [...] Content is your non-code assets like art, sound, maps or music."

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

A bit wacky that you can turn vertically until you face the other way, rather than stopping at the zenith.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Rxi - I know, but how else would I get sound effects?

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

black screen (win7 x64)

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

This is kinda cool. its weird that you can turn the camera upside down and invert your controls.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Hi Rxi, I think I mis-understood the rules on the Special Competition Exceptions. It mentions instruments, fonts, samples, etc., can be used if you have permission to use them. With the website I obtained the sounds from, they are royalty free and can be used without limits, and therefore I have permission to use them. I, for some reason, assumed it included ambient samples (e.g. the background sound of the cave)... Ooops...

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

:( i wanted to play it but i'm on 64bit

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I didn't really understand what I had to do, I explored the whole place and didn't find an exit. Really nice ambient and mood, everything else seemed a bit lacking though.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I could not get this to run via wine on linux, sorry! Looks interesting from the screenshots. Perhaps make a video?

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Oh god the FOV is so low :D

Also I'm running win7 x64 and it works for me with no hassle. It might be something else that's causing problems?

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Win8/x64 works fine though. But no sound sadly.
Nice take on HUD.
Man, it's hard, can't get to the exit! .)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Morgawr, there is an exit in the cave, you just need to find it...

Josefnpat, I don't DarkBasic Pro likes Windows running on Virtual Machines...

Frib, of course it's low, it's supposed to be a dark cave ^_^ Ah right, how odd...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Worked for me on Windows 7 x64.
The player could probably use a bit of guidance to understand where to go and what the goal is. I spent a few minutes wandering around the cave not knowing what to do until I finally gave up.

That said, I like the atmosphere in the game, before I read the description it felt like I was in an underwater cave.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Hi Jesper.
Thank you for your feedback. I thought about including some information at the start of the game, but I wanted to add mystery to it. Why are you in a cave? How did you get there? What is the objective? I wanted players to think for themselves rather than be told all of this information, as I see this in a lot of games, and it bugs me.

But I appreciate the feedback, and I'll take it on board...

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

The whole wonder around until you find a way out without a single tip on where to go is quite annoying, nicely built though and the mood is great

simvig says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Works on my Windows 7 64 bit. The atmosphere is nice, but the controls could use more work. Getting stuck on walls is a little too easy.

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Worked fine after I ran it in XP compatibility mode on win8 64b. The game made me turn down my speakers, because I was afraid it will try to scare me... I think that's a good enough indicator that it's immersive.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Very nice textures. Being something of a connoisseur of darkness I can attest to the quality of yours.

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49am

As errorage said, putting the game in XP compatibility mode works for windows 8 x64, the game was very atmospheric.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11am

Worked well for me in Windows 7 64 bit.

I got a bit dizzy at first, but then got used to it.

The death scene is pretty cool :)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Thank you all for the feedback! :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I was really looking forward to playing this. Shame I'm on Win7 64bit :(

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Apparently, some people have had no problems running it on Win7 x64, so give it a try and let me know

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I've added a version that works better on Windows 7 64 Bit Edition. Let me know how it works for you

Kyle Wanzek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Pretty cool idea! I would probably have liked the cave to have more landmarks because I got turned around a few times and got very very lost :).

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

Nice atmosphere. I got a bit stuck in walls a couple of times.
Did not manage to find the exit. Are there any hints I am missing or are you just meant to stumble upon it?

LrdKzrth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:17am

Thanks Kyle. That was the intention >:D

Thanks Nanolotl. No hints I'm afraid. Just a randomly generated maze to the goal. You'll know it if you see it.

Idovoodoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Seeing that battery low indicator flashing had me in a Slender-like panic! I agree with the guy a few comments above: using a mobile is a cool mechanic you should definitely use again. Couldn't find the exit but had fun looking. Well done! :)
PS if it turns out to be a problem using the audio files then just change your entry to a jam entry ;)

May 3, 2013 @ 1:51am

Woot more DBPro.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Simple and creepy, but I saw nothing in there and never found an exit... is anything in it? Is it all atmosphere?

LrdKzrth says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:30am

Hi Minion. There is definitely an exit, it's just very hard to find ;)

May 20, 2013 @ 2:03am

An interesting idea, though the lack of anything really happening or any sort of concept of where the exit might be sort of drags the whole thing gown. Not a bad attempt, though.

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:00am

very creepy but in the good way , i was tense the whole time, when i found finally the light on the roof , my battery end xD,btw +1 for Darkbasic i was a huge fan of it long time before

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]