April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Too Many Items

by jtzp4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist survivor game!

Avoid the crazy old men trying to give you useless items and survive as long as you can.

WASD or Arrows to move, mouse click to fire!

Powered by pixi.js

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#103Humor3.38
#485Fun3.06
#653Audio2.53
#668Mood2.76
#683Graphics2.88
#753Innovation2.88
#897Overall2.85
#956Theme3.09

Comments

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Pretty cool idea!

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Fun little game, the dialogue needs a"skip to next message" button

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Hahaha xD. Really funny game :)

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Funny idea.

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

and it's html5... nice :)

jtzp4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Thanks for your feedback :)

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

This is a pretty original idea! I think the collisions are a bit off, since I would shoot 5 or 6 times straight at the guy and it wouldn't kill him. Nice job though.

jtzp4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I just improved the collisions. Now it should be a bit easier to kill the guys :)

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Fun HTML5 game :).

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Survived 1m50s :) Became way too hard quickly though: those old men run fast! I liked the fact that the laser goes both ways (but be honest, that's probably for ease of implementation, right?).

Maybe the collision boxes are too big, cause it seemed really hard to avoid them.

jtzp4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51pm

@nddrylliog: Well played! I haven't spent a lot of time on the AI so it still needs some tweaking.
About the laser you are right :) Typically I use line/circle collisions which is more straightforward. But I think it is also fun to have both directions.

Ofursnati says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:15am

Nice game. Made it to 2:09.

daniel2357 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Cool idea . Minimalistic game . In overall - Funny game

f7f5 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Funny :) Survived 2m10.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56am

great job man! so cute

psc1997 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:54pm

haha so funny :D
I survived 5m 06 ;D
good job ;-)

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:07pm

That old man is crazy and, I suspect, a product of cloning technology.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:51pm

This is quite addictive and I liked the humour.

KEFIR says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Really fun and funny little game!

garygreen says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:58pm

That was daft but fun. :-) The gun direction was a bit tricky to get used to though.

biscuitdough says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Simple fun game, felt like 20 hits made it drag on a little too long, but overall pretty good.

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Genuinely made me laugh. I also liked the out-of-the-ordinary shooting mechanic. Is it shooting back through your own chest, though? It also fits the theme well and I enjoyed the music.
Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]