April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gallery

by Andrew Shouldice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game uses the arrow keys. You may have to click on the player to give it focus, but after that: arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#8Mood4.28
#8Overall4.22
#26Innovation4.15
#32Audio3.95
#40Fun3.85
#42Theme4.26
#71Graphics4.05
#117Humor3.30

Comments

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

I really liked it! Good job!

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

A compelling entry. I couldn't figure out how to reset the level, but I enjoyed the cube rotation mechanic. The narration felt a bit portal-inspired, and I liked the pace. Good job!

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

It took a really long time to get 'started'. I'd say start with more action and save the 'story' for later.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

haha oh word definitely my favorite pick so far. kinda hard, but in the good way. vague theme is also creepy as heck

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

I really enjoyed this.

I didn't fully grasp what was happening (which is probably why I love it so), and I got stuck in the room in your big screenshot.

I'll give it another try later. Really want to see it to the end.

Great design, really gorgeous artwork (love the red lights... I felt like I was looking at evil). Great audio too - impactful but subtle.

Best experience so far out LD26! Do you have any other work I can check out?

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

This was a great game. I like tricky puzzle games with a twist.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

Greg Power: Thanks for playing! To answer your question, I have some other games up on my website. www.andrewshouldice.com

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

The taking cube works great and the dialogue is nicely written. I love the little sounds of player moving around. Good job, man!

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Liked the puzzles. Good Work.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I like the way you set the mood to the player (through text and breaks).
Very challenging puzzles (spent a good while on that 8-figure-like level and 10min+ on the last one).

After several plays you start to the get feel for it and you start to find logical paths to solve the puzzles.
Art is great. Music reminds me of a Hellraiser kind of thing. Really creepy yet engaging.
Awesome experience!

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Your game is Awesome!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

This is Awesome !
The art and ausio are putting me in the mood of this game and the levels are very mind-blowing at the end :D

atrodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Awesome game! Probably going to play it for the rest of the day until I finish it.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

This was really sweet. I love what you did with blocking the colors, I thought the game was just a nicely themed 'get the block on x side' game until then, that part blew me away. I also dig how the first level looks like a sierpinski carpet

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

wow, I got stuck... but I really have no complaints. I like this a lot! :)

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

fantastic job all around :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

The game took a bit too much time to start for my taste but I'm glad I waited ! Very cool concept & smart level design. Great game :]

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Loved the 'R' level for shameful and obvious reasons :D Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Outstanding presentation, loved the narrator and the attenuation on the 'bad' sound was a great touch. That fade to white is like, a second too long maybe, took a while to get to the meat of the game. Er, just a nitpick though. The meat of the game was fun puzzlin'!

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I rated it perfect

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Hahaha! This is brillant!

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I love the idea behind covering up and ignoring your problems instead of actually fixing them (that's what I gathered at least). The mechanics behind the puzzles are great too, I like cube-rotation based puzzles quite a bit!

Well done!

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

This is a really interesting and challenging game. I like the overall appearance.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Really atmospheric, was really eerie at points. Good puzzles, took me a while to figure out but they were great. Nice game!

jukimv1986 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

Brilliant! I see what you did there. An extremely innovative game mechanic couple with a compelling background story. Well done!

BenW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

That's a really cool puzzle mechanic and I felt like I got it fairly intuitively and that it was well paced. I felt like the story was going somewhere but unfortunately I got stuck on one of three cube puzzles. I'll try and give it another shot sometime.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

I liked the way to tell messages, and the graphics, but I wished the progression were faster. Lot of time where I couldn't do anything but wait for the level to finish.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56am

Great game! i like the puzzles and the feel of the game. also the variations of the levels is very clever! very interesting to play! awesome game man!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

excellent! one of my favs so far, good mood, like the graphics and puzzles

Zoidbergtron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32am

Amazing!

aeveis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43am

Really nice and polished. An abrupt ending but very cool nonetheless!

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:41am

Great game! it started a bit abstract but later it got really solid, after a while you just know how to solve the puzzles.

Sestren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:03pm

One of my favorites so far. Everything was great!

May 2, 2013 @ 12:38am

Good job, nice atmosphere. Really like some of the puzzles. Congratulations!

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:54am

I got stuck in that 5 square area with the glowing side, I couldn't turn the glowing side all the way down.

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:55am

I guess I solved it <shrug>

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:19am

This is probably the best example of minimalism, from the gameplay right down to the graphics. Really simple to play difficult to master. I got stuck though, so I decided to stop playing. Job, well done!

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:13am

High scorer here! Great idea and very polished presentation.

Dir3kt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Awesome! At the beginning I was skeptic but once the mechanic kicks in, what a game! The idea of the R level is brilliant. Game is hard but not too hard. Maybe my only criticism is about the balance some levels were harder than the next one. But still that very much depend on the person who play and in 48H and no extensive play testing it's almost impossible to get right.

Great job!

I'm approaching 50 rated entries and this one is the best so far!

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Very good, although, I nearly stopped playing through the intro, and eventually couldn't get past the "R" level.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:28pm

This is amazing, very polished. Im not much of a puzzler but loved the story and everything! Good job!

cadin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I love this so much. Takes a while to get going, but it gets soooo good. 5 stars.
Great job!

Gaeel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Your cubes scare me, I'm going to bed now, not that I'll find sleep, ever again...

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:57pm

love puzzles, great work with graphics also, perhaps a little bit complicated the latest levels, but good in general :)

Jiggawatt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Oh wow, this is creepy. The audio -makes- this. I love it when gamedevs actually pay attention to sound design, rather than treating it as a necessary evil that can be rushed.

Some clever puzzle designs too. Great entry.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Great puzzle design and difficulty curve. My only gripe was the text between levels. I found it interesting at first, but ultimately I just wanted to get to the next level. Great job overall!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23am

Great puzzle game. I eventually got stumped but I got really far at least! Loved the creepy audio and the mechanic itself was interesting to play around with.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:53am

These puzzles get devious! I haven't beaten it yet, but I'll keep trying.
I thought the visuals, sounds, and gameplay all blended together into a great experience. I really enjoyed the audible difference between covered and exposed chaos! Tremendous game overall.

May 3, 2013 @ 2:28am

Fun game. Great mechanic. Good mood and antagonist. I got stuck on the 6th or 7th level? Hope I was near the end. Wanted to see it.

oatsbarley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:00am

The ambient background sound gives this a really nice feeling, and the sound design in general is great. The mechanic is really clever, the graphics are simple but they look great. Overall this is fantastic. Well done!

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I was amazed by this entry. Everything just fits together perfectly (hope that makes the cube happy), from the haunting audio to the narrative and visual aesthetics. I have yet to finish it but shall definitely be playing again, it has become one of my all-time favourite puzzle games. Well Done =]

May 3, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I agree that the cutscene to gameplay ratio was maybe slightly off initially, but I loved the atmosphere; a excellent feel to the whole thing

Tom 7 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:13am

Nice one! I especially like the puzzle design and progression, but the graphics and the general mood are pretty great too. Downside for me was how uncomfortably close the cube was to the similar character in Fez. Very good entry, though!

GameNacho says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:40am

Definitely an experience, I liked the cube narrator too!

aaron9000 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:38am

I like the style. Starts off really slowly and the pauses between levels are to stomach however.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:12am

Excellent job and one of my favorite games so far. One nitpick though - I think the first few levels are too slow. I think you should introduce a flashing light to cover on the very first level. Also - I got stuck on the level with an 'R' where you have to get a light out of the corner - it would be nice if there was a reset button or something.

Christian S. says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:05am

I just couldn't stop playing this. Excellent work!

Jonapulse says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:49am

Lovely game - intense atmosphere, increasingly interesting gameplay mechanic. I did start channeling satan at one point and now my cat is dead. Which I think is bad.

TehSkull says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:42pm

The "voice" reminded me of Animal Crossing. Gameplay was unique and high in creativity and difficulty. All around a good experience.

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Strange and fun! Very challenging puzzles.

Jun 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I'm a Linux user and can't run the game. Even wine couldn't make it run. Unity player can run under windows and OSX, but not Linux. Please use a more multiplatform tool next time! When you develop a windows-only software, you obligate your user to purchase the windows thing. And the money is not the problem, the goal is about freedom and break the chains of the microsoft/apple slavery.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]